Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Bookings in OpenIRIS

FZEM-Logo-8bit-150_sehr_breit

What is OpenIRIS

OpenIRIS as a Pilot Scheme

OpenIRIS (in short IRIS) is a free project, which enables booking of devices and (measurement) services!
The idea behind this booking system is to make the costly scientific devices much better accesible, not only the machinery of the own institute or department but also the resources of others, maybe even world-wide distributed, scientific providers.

To fathom the possibilities of OpenIRIS, and to work out a conception for its productive implementation at BCP, we are currently testing the bookage of devices and services in a pilot scheme at FZEM. Expansion of these tests for the optical microscopy machinery is currently under way.

IRIS at FZEM

Devices and Services

Two devices (the Vitrobot to produce cryo-samples and the Talos L120C microscope for conventional and cryogenic TEM) and two services (TEM measurements at our (standard) microscops, and SPA data acquisition at the Titan Krios) are open for bookings by registered users in IRIS. Both the devices can be used autonomously as well as operator assisted.

While the TEM service is in principle open to all registered users of BioSupraMol, the SPA service is preferentially restricted to members of a group of applicants.

For autonomous usage, introduction as well as training is madatory. We also set high value on trained people to operate as key-users for their working groups. Therefore, training candidates should best be on a postdoctoral position or have a long-term employment at FUB.
Due to the pandemic introductions and trainig are not offered at the moment.

Booking requirements

Registration at FUB-IRIS

As a prerequisit to using the bookig system of OpenIRIS, users have to register at the FUB-IRIS portal first. FU-Berlin credentials are used for registration and acces. Since the verification is accomplished by the single-sign-on system of FUB, only your institutional email address (user name) must be used in IRIS. Users from external institutions that use OpenIRIS as well, can (normaly) use their respective IRIS credentials to also log-in at the FUB-IRIS portal - FUB users should exclusively use their FUB credentials.
You can download a hand-out about the registration at FUB-IRIS from below.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Buchungen in OpenIRIS

FZEM-Logo-8bit-150_sehr_breit

Was ist OpenIRIS

OpenIRIS als Pilotprojekt

OpenIRIS (kurz IRIS) ist ein freies Projekt, das die Buchung von Geräten und (Mess-)Services ermöglicht!
Mit dem Buchungssystem werden aber nicht nur Gerätschaften des eigenen Instituts oder Fachbereiches über den Browser zugänglich, sondern es können auch Resourcen anderer, gegebenenfalls weltweit verstreuter, wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen nachgefragt werden.

Um die vielen Möglichkeiten auszuloten, die OpenIRIS bietet, und um ein Konzept zur Nutzung zu erarbeiten, wird die Buchung von Geräten und Services derzeit als Pilotprojekt am FZEM getestet. Die Erweiterung auf die optische Mikroskopie ist Anfang 2022 erfolgreich gestartet.

IRIS am FZEM

Geräte und Services

Insgesamt stehen am FZEM drei Geräte (der Vitrobot, zum Erstellen von Kryo-Präparaten, das Talos L120C Mikroskop für konventionele TEM und Kryo-TEM und das SU 8030 Raster-Elektronenmikroskop) zur Verfügung, sie sowohl selbständig als auch operator-assistiert gebucht werden können. Daneben können zwei Services für TEM Messungen an einem unserer drei (standard) Mikroskope und ein Service für die SPA Datenakquisition am Titan Krios Mikroskop in OpenIRIS nachgefragt werden.
Während aber die beiden TEM Services prinzipiell allen Usern offen stehen, die bei BioSupraMol registriert sind, ist der SPA Service vornehmlich auf die Gruppenmitglieder der Antragsteller beschränkt.

Für die selbständige Nutzung sind Einweisung und Training zwingende Voraussetzung. Dabei legen wir Wert darauf, dass die Trainierten als Keyuser für ihre jeweiligen Arbeitsgruppen fungieren und daher längerfristig zur Verfügung stehen sollten.

Einweisungen und Training finden aufgrund der Pandemie derzeit nicht statt.

Buchungsvoraussetzungen

Registrierung in FUB-IRIS

Als Voraussetzung zur Nutzung des Buchungssystems OpenIRIS müssen sich die User am FUB-IRIS Buchungsportal registrieren. Die Registrierung und der Zugang erfolgen mit den FUB Zugangsdaten. Da die Verifizierung vom Single-Sign-On der Freien Universität übernommen wird, muss in IRIS die offizielle FU Email-Adresse (als Username) genutzt werden. Nutzer von anderen Institutionen, die ebenfalls IRIS einsetzen, können ihre IRIS Zugangsdaten (in der Regel) auch für das FUB-IRIS Portal verwenden - FUB User sollten ausschließlich ihre FUB Zugangsdaten verwenden.
Sie finden ein Handout zur Registrierung bei FUB-IRIS als Download weiter unten.