Chemistry

Welcome to the Chemistry webpages of the Institute of Chemistry and Biochemistry of Free University Berlin! 

Inorganic Chemistry - Organic Chemistry - Physical & Theoretical Chemistry - Chemistry Education * Research Groups * Staff

Research Units

Inorganic Chemistry

The Inorganic Chemistry Unit focuses on coordination chemistry, radiochemistry, fluorine, phosphorus and bioinorganic chemistry and is located at Fabeckstraße 34/36.

Organic Chemistry

Main areas of Organic Chemistry are total synthesis, supramolecular chemistry, bioorganic chemistry and dendrimer chemistry. It resides at Takustrasse 3.

Physical & Theoretical Chemistry

Located at Arnimallee 22, Physical & Theoretical Chemistry is strong in nanoparticles, fuel cells, EPR spectroscopy at surfaces and the theoretical treatment of large systems.

Chemistry Education

Chemistry Education at Takustrasse 3 develops concepts for the education of chemistry teachers and investigates teaching and learning environments in science subjects.

Teaching and Study Programs

The chemistry branch of the institute of chemistry and biochemistry is responsible for the following study programs with several hundreds of students. Bachelor programs are three-year programs and finish with a bachelor’s thesis, master programs run for two years with a three- (chemistry teachers) or six-month (chemistry) master’s thesis usually done in the last term.

  • Bachelor Program in Chemistry

    The bachelor program in chemistry is based on the three main branches of chemistry, namely inorganic, organic and physical chemistry which are taught theoretically and practically. Furthermore, students can choose from a variety of elective modules, take courses on presentation techniques to enhance their soft skills and have the possibility to take courses from other study programs. A unique feature of the study program is the transdisciplinary inorganic-organic advanced lab course. Furthermore, the students make the first steps in their professional career in a multi-week vocational training.

  • Master Program in Chemistry

    The master program gives a large variety of courses to choose from both within the main branches and beyond them. In addition to the basic courses in the main branches, lectures and research internships can be chosen in the different branches to guarantee an individual specialization of every student of the study program. Students can make their first teaching experience through giving tutorials or supervising experiments in the lab courses. The master program in chemistry is bilingual (German / English), giving non-speaking students the possibility to take part in the study program, but also helping German natives to enhance their knowledge of the scientific language English.


  • Bachelor Program for Chemistry Teachers

    The bachelor program for chemistry teachers provides basic knowledge on the three main branches of chemistry, namely inorganic, organic and physical chemistry, but students also take courses on didactics in order to enhance their teaching skills. Apart from the basic chemistry lectures, students can choose from a variety of advanced courses from the bachelor program in chemistry. In the study program, students get the opportunity to concept their first own lectures and test them with school classes. Another important feature of the study program is the variety of 14 different subjects that students can combine with chemistry in their combination of teaching subjects.

  • Master Program for Chemistry Teachers

    The master program for chemistry teachers (master of education) gives a large variety of elective courses from both bachelor and master program in chemistry as well as courses that are specifically designed for teachers. A unique feature is a combined module of didactics and chemistry courses, where current chemical topics are incorporated in the design of chemistry classes. Students will spend one semester at a school, to get the opportunity to put their chemistry and didactics related skills to the test. In the study program, students can write their master’s thesis in a didactics-oriented field, in educational science or in a scientific research project like the bachelor’s thesis.


  • Master Program in Polymer Science

    The polymer science master program is situated at the interface of polymer chemistry and polymer physics and is jointly operated by Humboldt University Berlin, Technical University Berlin, Free University Berlin and the University of Potsdam.

Chemie

Willkommen am Bereich Chemie des Instituts für Chemie und Biochemie der Freien Universität Berlin! 

Anorganische Chemie - Organische Chemie - Physikalische & Theoretische Chemie - Chemiedidaktik * Arbeitsgruppen * Mitarbeiter/innen

Forschung in der Chemie

Anorganische Chemie

Die Anorganische Chemie (Fabeckstr. 34/36) setzt Schwerpunkte in der Koordinationschemie, der Radiochemie, der Fluor- und Phosphorchemie und der Bioanorganischen Chemie.

Organische Chemie

Forschungsschwerpunkte der Organischen Chemie (Takustraße 3) sind die Totalsynthese, die Supramolekulare und die Bioorganische Chemie und die Dendrimerchemie.

Physikalische & Theoretische Chemie

Die Physikalische & Theoretische Chemie (Takustraße 3) arbeitet an Nanopartikeln, Brennstoffzellen, Oberflächen und der theoretischen Beschreibung großer Systeme.

Chemiedidaktik

Die Chemiedidaktik in der Takustraße 3 entwickelt Konzepte for die Ausbildung von Chemielehrern und untersucht Lernumgebungen in den naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern.

Chemiestudium

Der Bereich Chemie des Instituts für Chemie und Biochemie ist verantwortlich für die folgenden Studiengänge mit mehreren hundert Studierenden. Bachelor-Studiengänge laufen für drei Jahre und werden mit einer Bachelorarbeit abgeschlossen, Master-Studiengänge sind auf zwei Jahre angelegt und werden mit einer viertel- (Lehramt Chemie) bzw. halbjährigen (Chemie) Masterarbeit im vierten Mastersemester abgeschlossen.

  • Bachelor-Studiengang Chemie

    Der Bachelorstudiengang Chemie vermittelt die klassischen Gebiete der Chemie mit den Kernfächern Anorganische, Organische und Physikalische Chemie, die jeweils in umfangreichen Teilen sowohl theoretisch als auch praktisch gelehrt werden. Neben den Kernfächern der Chemie werden auch Soft Skills wie Präsentationstechniken vermittelt. Studierende können bereits im Bachelorstudiengang erste Wahlmodule wählen und auch einzelne Kurse aus anderen Studiengängen belegen. Bei den praktischen Modulen stellt das disziplinübergreifende Anorganisch-Organische Synthesepraktikum ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal des Studiengangs dar. In einem mehrwöchigen Betriebspraktikum können die Studierenden erste Erfahrungen in der Berufswelt sammeln.

  • Master-Studiengang Chemie

    Im Masterstudiengang Chemie gibt es umfangreiche Wahlmöglichkeiten, sowohl innerhalb der Kernfächer, als auch über die Kernfächer hinaus. Vorlesungen und Forschungspraktika können aufbauend auf dem Grundstock der Kernfächer in den verschiedenen Bereichen gewählt werden, wodurch eine individuelle Spezialisierung innerhalb des Studiengangs möglich ist. Des Weiteren haben die Studierenden die Möglichkeit, durch das Leiten einer Übungsgruppe oder die Betreuung von Versuchen im Praktikum erste Erfahrungen in der Lehre zu machen. Eine Besonderheit des Studiengangs ist die Zweisprachigkeit (Deutsch / Englisch), die ausländischen Studierenden das Studium erleichtert, aber auch deutschsprachigen Studierenden die Möglichkeit gibt, ihre Kenntnisse der Fachsprache Englisch zu vertiefen.

  • Bachelor-Studiengang für das Lehramt

    Der Bachelorstudiengang Chemie für das Lehramt vermittelt neben den klassischen Gebieten der Chemie mit den Kernfächern Anorganische, Organische und Physikalische Chemie, auch fachdidaktische Konzepte, um die Studierenden auf den Lehramtsberuf vorzubereiten. Zusätzlich zu den Grundvorlesungen der drei Kernfächer können Studierende in einer Vertiefungsphase aus einem umfangreichen Angebot verschiedene Kurse des Bachelorstudiengangs Chemie wählen. Zudem bietet der Studiengang die Möglichkeit, erste Unterrichtsstunden selbst zu planen und in einer Projektwoche mit Schüler_innen durchzuführen. Ein besonderes Merkmal des Studiengangs ist die große Auswahl an Fächerkombinationen. Die Studierenden können hierbei aus 14 Kombinationsmöglichkeiten aus Chemie und einem weiteren Fach wählen.

  • Master-Studiengang für das Lehramt

    Im Masterstudiengang Chemie (Master of Education) für das Lehramt gibt es umfangreiche Wahlmöglichkeiten, dabei können sowohl Module aus beiden Studiengängen, Bachelor- und Masterstudiengang Chemie, als auch lehramtsspezifische Module gewählt werden. Ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal stellt das Kombinationsmodul aus Fachwissenschaft Chemie und Fachdidaktik dar, in dem aktuelle Aspekte der chemischen Forschung in fachdidaktische Umsetzungen einfließen. Durch ein Praxissemester an einer Schule erhalten die Studierenden die Möglichkeit, ihr erworbenes fachliches und didaktisches Wissen im realen Arbeitsumfeld anzuwenden. Der Studiengang bietet zudem die Möglichkeit, die Masterarbeit im Bereich der Chemiedidaktik, eine erziehungswissenschaftliche oder eine fachliche Arbeit wie die Bachelorarbeit anzufertigen..

  • Master-Studiengang Polymer Science

    Der Masterstudiengang Polymer Science ist an der Schnittstelle zwischen Polymerchemie und Polymerphysik angesiedelt und wird gemeinsam von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Freien Universität Berlin und der Universität Potsdam getragen.