Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Our Location

Learn more about the Research Center of Electron Microscopy:
address, development, as well as short outlines of methods and facillities

FZEM-Logo-8bit-150_sehr_breit

Freie Universität Berlin

Department of Biology, Chemistry and Pharmacy

Institute for Chemistry and Biochemistry

The Research Center of Electron Microskopy

The Research Center of Electron Microskopy
Bildquelle: Boris Schade

Address
Fabeckstraße 36A
14195 Berlin
Deutschland

Our location on google maps

You may quickly find your way to our site using Google Maps, but personal data like your IP adress will be sent to Google. You can decide yourself.

<iframe src="https://www.google.com/maps/embed?pb=!1m18!1m12!1m3!1d9725.616640491182!2d13.286323403891357!3d52.45370754879295!2m3!1f0!2f0!3f0!3m2!1i1024!2i768!4f13.1!3m3!1m2!1s0x47a85a6f422da633%3A0x916a464fa518295c!2sFU%20FZEM!5e0!3m2!1sde!2sde!4v1614774116174!5m2!1sde!2sde" width="400" height="300" style="border:0;" allowfullscreen="" loading="lazy"></iframe>

Google Maps

The Past, ...

To cover the growing interest in electron microscopical investigations and the need for structural elucidation of supramolecular assemblies at the Institute of Organic Chemistry, a modern FEI Tecnai F20 microscope was funded within the frame of a “Major Research Instrumentation” funding program from the Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) and required an appropriate home.

This home was found in a small concrete construction ideally situated right between the new buildings of Inorganic Chemistry and Biochemistry (formerly Institutes of Crystallography and Mineralogy) and within a stone's throw of the building of Organic Chemistry. The building was originally constructed to accommodate the electron microscopes of the Institute of Microbiology and Epizootics (Prof. Siegfried Grund) of the veterinary medicine department. None other than later Nobelist Ernst Ruska had planned two free-swinging bottom-up concrete pendulums on steel rods which are 8 meters deeply plugged into the ground to absorb vibrations from the nearby underground passing through Dahlem.

The Research Center of Electron Microscopy (FZEM) at the FU-Berlin was founded in 1999. A left-over Philips EM 400T (with STEM), a Philips CM12 and the new FEI Tecnai F20 build up the apparative equipment, when Dr. habil. Christoph Böttcher moved here with his group and became the first scientific head of the institute in July 1999.

... the Present, ...

But technical development has made significant progress, especially in recent years with new technologies such as direct electron detectors and volta phase plates. To keep up with this development, a 200 kV Talos Arctica with autoloader and VPP was funded from the DFG back in 2016 and took the place of the EM 400. Next a Talos L120C replaced the CM12 microscope and became, together with the Tecnai F20, our new working horse. In 2020, Dr. Böttcher retired and Dr. Kai Ludwig became Scientific head of the FZEM.

Besides, the building houses a Hitachi SU 8030 scanning electron microscope from the group of Prof. Dr. Eckart Rühl for inspections of mid-sized structures and a Bruker Multimode 8 nanoscope atomic force microscope from the group of Prof. Dr. Reiner Haag for investigations of nanostructured surfaces. While none of the older microscopes is present anymore, the two pendulums still do their job. One of them carries our Talos Arctica microscope, the other one balances the AFM.

Last but not least, we accommodate the concentrated knowledge of Natural Science by giving also the emeriti of the faculty a new home.

... and the Future.

Imaging supramolecular structures from synthetic amphiphiles is still one of our main concerns. However, from the side of structural biochemistry (esp. by the group of Prof. Markus Wahl) there was a growing need to use electron microscopy to elucidate the structures of biological macromolecules and macromolecular complexes in the nearly atomic resolution regime by means of the so-called single particle method (SPA). This requires a different instrumentation and so two 300 kV Titan Krios microscopes were acquired in a joint 91b application of Charité and FU-Berlin at the DFG in 2019; one specialised for cryogenic electron tomography (cryo-ET) in Berlin Buch and one for SPA data acquisition here in Dahlem. Already in the first year of routine operation, 3D structures of 100 to 1000 kD protein complexes have been achieved with resolutions up to 1.8 Å. Due to the rather huge dimensions of the Titan Krios, it could not find a place in our old building. Thus, it had to be temporarily housed in a large hall of the physics department.

With the completion of the new research building SupraFAB, the Titan Krios will move into it and will benefit there from the optimized, climate-stabilized and low-vibration structural conditions. As part of the Berlin Integrative Structural Biology (BIS), we will aim for a firm place in the growing field of 3D structural analysis of proteins and protein complexes.

Methodologies

  • CTEM
  • Cryo-TEM
  • Cryo-Negative staining
  • Cryo-Tomography
  • SPA (Single particle data acquisition)
  • 3D-Reconstruction (IMAGIC 5, CisTEM, IMod etc.)

Instrumentation

  • Titan Krios with Falcon 3EC Direct Electron Detector
  • Talos Arctica with CETA 4k CMOS camera and Falcon 3EC Direct Electron Detector
  • Vitrobot Mark IV automated freeze plunger
  • Talos L120C with CETA 4k CMOS camera
  • Tecnai F20 FEG with Eagle 2k CCD camera
  • Gatan Cryo Holder and -transfersystem (Model 626)
  • Gatan Cryo High Tilt Tomography Holder and -transfersystem (Model 914)

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Unser Standort

Erfahren Sie hier mehr über das Forschungszentrum für Elektronenmikroskopie:
Adresse, Entwicklung, sowie kurze Übersichten über Methodiken und Ausstattung

FZEM-Logo-8bit-150_sehr_breit

Freie Universität Berlin

Fachbereich für Biologie, Chemie und Pharmazie

Institut für Chemie und Biochemie

Forschungszentrum für Elektronenmikroskopie

Forschungszentrum für Elektronenmikroskopie
Bildquelle: Boris Schade

Adresse
Fabeckstraße 36A
14195 Berlin
Deutschland

Unser Standort auf Google Maps

Mit Google Maps können Sie schnell den Weg zu uns finden, dabei werden aber persönliche Daten wie ihre IP-Adresse an Google gesendet. Sie können selbst entscheiden!

<iframe src="https://www.google.com/maps/embed?pb=!1m18!1m12!1m3!1d9725.616640491182!2d13.286323403891357!3d52.45370754879295!2m3!1f0!2f0!3f0!3m2!1i1024!2i768!4f13.1!3m3!1m2!1s0x47a85a6f422da633%3A0x916a464fa518295c!2sFU%20FZEM!5e0!3m2!1sde!2sde!4v1614774116174!5m2!1sde!2sde" width="400" height="300" style="border:0;" allowfullscreen="" loading="lazy"></iframe>

Google Maps

Die Vergangenheit, ...

Um dem steigenden Interesse nach elektronenmikroskopischen Untersuchungen und der Nachfrage nach der Strukturaufklärung von supramolekularen Assemblagen am Institut für Organische Chemie nachzukommen, wurde 1999 ein modernes FEI Tecnai F20 Mikroskop im Rahmen einer Großgeräteinitiative der Deutschen Forschungsgesellschaft (DFG) eingeworben. Dieses Mikroskop benötigte nun eine adäquate Behausung.

Der geeignete Platz fand sich in einem Betonbau, der ideal zwischen den neuen Gebäuden der Anorganischen Chemie und der Biochemie (ehemals Institute für Kristallographie und Mineralogie) und nur einen Steinwurf vom Gebäude der Organischen Chemie gelegen ist. Das Gebäude war ursprünglich für die Elektronenmikroskope des Instituts für Mikrobiologie und Tierseuchen (Prof. Siegfried Grund) des Veterinärmedizinischen Fachbereichs erbaut worden. Kein geringerer als der spätere Nobelpreisträger Ernst Ruska hatte eigens dafür zwei umgekehrte Betonpendel entworfen, die auf 8 Meter tief in den Boden eingelassenen freischwingenden Stahlrohren lagern, um die Erschütterungen durch die nahegelegene U-Bahn-Linie in Dahlem zu dämpfen.

Somit war das Forschungszentrum für Elektronenmikroskopie (FZEM) an der Freien Universität Berlin gegründet: Ein noch vorhandenes Philips EM 400T (mit STEM), ein Philips CM12 und das neue Tecnai F20 bildeten die apparative Ausstattung als Dr. Christoph Böttcher im Juli 1999 mit seiner Gruppe in das Gebäude einzog und der erste wissenschaftliche Leiter des Instituts wurde.

... die Gegenwart, ...

Seitdem hat die Elektronenmikroskopie ganz erhebliche Fortschritte gemacht, speziell in den letzten Jahren mit der Entwicklung neuer Technologien wie z.B. den Direkt-Elektronendetektoren (DED) und der Volta-Phasenplatte (VPP). Um mit dieser Entwicklung Schritt zu halten, wurde 2016 ein FEI Talos Arctica mit Autoloader und VPP von der DFG eingeworben; es nimmt nun den Platz des alten EM 400T ein. Außerdem wurde etwas später auch das CM12 durch ein FEI Talos 120C ersetzt, das heute, neben dem Tecnai F20, als neues Routinegerät eingesetzt wird. 2020 wechselte PD Dr. Böttcher in Ruhestand und Dr. Ludwig wurde der neue wissenschaftliche Leiter des FZEM.

Neben den TEMs beherbergt das Gebäude noch ein Hitachi SU-8030 Raster-Elektronenmikroskop (SEM) der Arbeitsgruppe Rühl und ein Bruker Multimode 8 Nanoscope Rasterkraftmikroskop (AFM) der Arbeitsgruppe Haag für die Untersuchungen nanostrukturierter Oberflächen. Und während sich nun keines der alten Mikroskope mehr im Haus befindet, verrichten die beiden Pendel weiterhin ihre Arbeit; eines trägt das 'Talos Arctica' während das andere das AFM entkoppelt.

Zu guter Letzt beherbergt das Haus auch noch die geballte wissenschaftliche Expertise in den Lebenswissenschaften, da es seit einiger Zeit den Eremiti des Fachbereichs Arbeitsplätze für ihren "Unruhezustand" bietet.

... und die Zukunft.

Die Abbildung supramolekularer Strukturen aus synthetischen Amphiphilen ist nach wie vor eines unserer Hauptanliegen. Von Seiten der Strukturbiochemie (insbesondere durch die Gruppe von Prof. Markus Wahl) kam jedoch zunehmend der Wunsch auf, mit Hilfe der Elektronenmikroskopie die Strukturen biologischer Makromoleküle und makromolekularer Komplexe im nahezu atomaren Auflösungsregime mittels der sogenannten Einzelpartikelmethode (SPA) aufzuklären. Dies erfordert eine entsprechend angepasste Geräteausstattung und so wurden in einem gemeinsamen 91b-Antrag der Charité und der FU-Berlin bei der DFG im Jahr 2019 zwei 300-kV-Titan-Krios-Mikroskope eingeworben; eines spezialisiert für die kryogene Elektronentomographie (cryo-ET) in Berlin-Buch und eines für die SPA-Datenaufnahme hier in Dahlem. Bereits im ersten Jahr des Routinebetriebs wurden 3D-Strukturen von 100 bis 1000 kD Proteinkomplexen mit Auflösungen bis zu 1,8 Å aufgeklärt. Aufgrund der recht großen Abmessungen des Titan Krios konnte das Mikroskop keinen Platz mehr in unserem Gebäude finden und so wurde es übergangsweise in einer großen Halle des Fachbereiches für Physik untergebracht werden.

Mit der Fertigstellung des neuen Forschungsgebäudes SupraFAB wird der Titan Krios dorthin umziehen und dort hoffentlich von den optimierten, klimastabilisierten und schwingungsarmen baulichen Bedingungen profitieren. Als Teil der Berlin Integrative Structural Biology (BIS) wollen wir einen festen Platz auf dem wachsenden Gebiet der 3D-Strukturanalyse von Proteinen und Proteinkomplexen anstreben.

Methodiken

  • CTEM
  • Cryo-TEM
  • Cryo-Negativkontrastierung
  • Cryo-Tomographie
  • SPA (Single particle data acquisition)
  • 3D-Rekonstruktion (IMAGIC 5, CisTEM, IMod etc.)

Ausstattung

  • Titan Krios mit Falcon 3EC Direkt-Elektronendetektor
  • Talos Arctica mit CETA 4k CMOS Kamera und Falcon 3EC Direkt-Elektronendetektor
  • Vitrobot Mark IV automatisiertes Einfriersystem
  • Talos L120C mit CETA 4k CMOS Kamera
  • Tecnai F20 FEG mit Eagle 2k CCD Kamera
  • Gatan Cryo Halter und -transfersystem (Model 626)
  • Gatan Cryo High Tilt Tomographie Halter und -transfersystem (Model 914)