Pharmacist and Diploma-Pharmacist Franziska Kluwe

Franziska Kluwe

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address
Kelchstr. 31
Room 138 A
12169 Berlin
Email
franziska.kluwe[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum vitae

 

Since 06/2016

Doctoral student at the Graduate Research Training Program “PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling“ at the Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry supervised by Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft at the Freie Universitaet Berlin

05/2016

Registration as pharmacist

11/2015-04/2016

Pre-registration internship at BerlinApotheke am Garbátyplatz in Berlin

05/2015-10/2015

Diploma thesis at the Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy supervised by Prof. Dr. Christoph A. Ritter at the Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universitaet Greifswald

Topic: Optimization of in vitro test systems of cell migration and impact of novel PTK6-/Brk-inhibitors on cell migration of breast cancer cell lines

10/2010-04/2015

Degree in Pharmacy at Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universitaet Greifswald

06/2010

A-Level (Abitur) at Rosa-Luxemburg-Oberschule (Gymnasium) in Berlin

Focus of research

[Forschungslinie 2]: Pharmacometric data analysis

 

“Optimisation of antiinfective therapies using pharmacometric models for plasma and different target-sites (working title)”

 

Despite the broad range of today’s therapeutic opportunities, the adequate treatment of infectious diseases with antiinfective drugs remains a challenging task. Although during the past decades, a number of potent new antiinfective drugs have been developed and they are frequently used, their usage still needs optimisation. For an effective and safe antiinfective therapy, the choice of the right drug against the right pathogen is only one of many contributing factors, such as the appropriate dosing regimen or individual patient characteristics. More and more, pharmacogenomic aspects, i.e. individual genetic factors such as the status of drug-metabolising enzymes and their influence on drug concentrations and responses, are also considered. In addition, effective drug concentrations at the target-site of an infection are essential, e.g. in the interstitial space fluid of a tissue, but should not exceed maximum tolerated concentrations. To determine the concentrations of a drug at the target-site, the minimally invasive technique of microdialysis is often used to continuously sample the unbound concentration of the respective drug from the interstitial space fluid.

 

The objectives of my PhD project include the analysis of data from clinical trials to develop pharmacometric models integrating samples obtained from diverse matrices, such as plasma and different target-sites. For this purpose, the nonlinear mixed-effects modelling approach is applied to describe the concentration-time profiles (pharmacokinetics) in the study population and to quantify the variability between and within the individuals (inter- and intra-individual variability). Additionally, the identification of factors (covariates) contributing to this variability, e.g. CYP enzyme polymorphisms, shall improve our understanding of underlying mechanisms and enable more individualised therapy options. Furthermore, these population pharmacokinetic models can be linked to potential desired outcomes (pharmacodynamics), e.g. by assessing the attainment of pathogen-specific therapy targets. In a next step, simulations with the developed models shall help to evaluate the currently used dosing regimens and, if needed, develop improved dosing strategies to ultimately contribute to an optimised usage of antiinfectives.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Apothekerin und Diplom-Pharmazeutin Franziska Kluwe

Franziska Kluwe

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse
Kelchstr. 31
Raum 138 A
12169 Berlin
E-Mail
franziska.kluwe[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum vitae

seit 06/2016

Doktorandin (Graduiertenprogramm „PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling“) im AK Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft an der Freien Universität Berlin

05/2016

Approbation als Apothekerin

11/2015-04/2016

Zweite Hälfte des praktischen Jahres für Pharmazeuten in der BerlinApotheke am Garbátyplatz in Berlin

05/2015-10/2015

Erste Hälfte des Praktischen Jahres für Pharmazeuten als Diplomandin im Arbeitskreis Klinische Pharmazie von Herrn Prof. Dr. Christoph Ritter an der Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universität Greifswald

Thema: Optimierung von In-vitro-Testsystemen der Zellmigration und Untersuchung des Einflusses von PTK6-/Brk-Hemmstoffen auf das Migrationsverhalten von Brustkrebszelllinien

10/2010-04/2015

Studium der Pharmazie an der Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universität Greifswald

06/2010

Abitur an der Rosa-Luxemburg-Oberschule (Gymnasium) in Berlin

Forschungsschwerpunkte


Forschungslinie 2: Pharmakometrische Datenanalyse


„Optimierung antiinfektiver Therapien mithilfe pharmakometrischer Modelle für Plasma und verschiedene Wirkorte (Arbeitstitel)“

 

Trotz des heutigen breiten antiinfektiven Therapiespektrums stellt die adäquate Behandlung von Infektionskrankheiten eine bleibende Herausforderung dar. Obwohl im Laufe der letzten Jahrzehnte viele neue wirksame Arzneistoffe zugelassen wurden, ist deren optimale Anwendung ungeachtet des vielfachen Einsatzes teilweise noch immer nicht gelungen. Für eine effektive und sichere Therapie spielen viele verschieden Faktoren eine Rolle, so ist nicht nur die Auswahl des richtigen Arzneistoffes gegen einen speziellen Erreger notwendig, sondern müssen beispielsweise auch das passende Dosierungsschema angewendet oder individuelle Patienteneigenschaften berücksichtigt werden. Immer häufiger werden in diesem Zusammenhang individuelle pharmakogenetische Einflussfaktoren berücksichtigt, beispielsweise individuelle genetische Polymorphismen und damit assoziierte erhöhte oder erniedrigte Aktivitäten Arzneistoff-metabolisierender Enzyme. Darüber hinaus müssen effektive Arzneistoffkonzentrationen am Wirkort, im Falle von Antiinfektiva beispielsweise in der extrazellulären Interstitialflüssigkeit von Geweben, sichergestellt werden. Um diese ungebundenen Arzneistoffkonzentrationen am Wirkort zu bestimmen, wird immer häufiger die minimal-invasive Methode der Mikrodialyse eingesetzt.

 

Das Ziel meines Forschungsprojektes ist die pharmakometrische Analyse klinischer Daten zur Entwicklung mathematischer Modelle, die beispielweise Pharmakokinetik und/oder Pharmakodynamik eines Arzneitstoffes in Plasma oder Interstitialflüssigkeit beschreiben können. Mithilfe pharmakometrischer Methoden („Nonlinear mixed-effects modelling“) ist es möglich, durch das systematische Sammeln und Auswerten von Daten, die beispielsweise in kontrollierten klinischen Studien gewonnen wurden, inter-, sowie intraindividuelle Variabilitätät innerhalb einer Studienpopulation zu quantifizieren und individuelle Einflussfaktoren zu identifizieren, die diese Variabilitäten beeinflussen, beispielsweise genetische Polymorphismen. Dadurch können zugrundeliegende Mechanismen besser verstanden werden und die antiinfektive Therapie weiter individualisiert und verbessert werden. Im weiteren Verlauf können die mathematischen Modelle dazu verwendet werden Simulationen durchzuführen, welche die Beurteilung und ­­– wenn nötig – Optimierung der Therapieschemata verschiedener Antiinfektiva erlauben, um deren Einsatz weiter zu verbessern und Resistenzentwicklungen entgegen zu wirken.