Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Structurally persistent micelles from dendritic amphiphiles

Special amphiphilic calixarene and fullerene derivatives with Newkome-type dendrimeric headgroups or amphiphilic non-ionic polyglycerol derivatives possess a unique capacity to form structurally persistent micellar assemblies.

In cooperation with the groups of Prof. A. Hirsch (Institute of Organic Chemistry at the Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg) and the group of Prof. R. Haag (Institute of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin) we study the molecular factors which trigger the structural persistence. In specific cases cryo-TEM in combination with image processing methods allows for a determination of the assemblies three-dimensional structure. MD-simulations in the group of Prof. T. Clark (Computer Chemistry Center at the Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg) give significant support in understanding the molecular factors which control and stabilize the structurally persistent assemblies.

Cooperation with Prof. A. Hirsch (Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg) and Prof. R. Haag (FU Berlin)

Selected publications:

M. Kellermann, W. Bauer, A. Hirsch, B. Schade, K. Ludwig and C. Böttcher (2004)
The first account on a structurally persistent micelle.
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 43 (22), 2959 - 2962.

S. Burghardt, A. Hirsch, B. Schade, K. Ludwig and C. Böttcher (2005)
Switchable Supramolecular Organization of Structurally Defined Micelles Based on an Amphiphilic Fullerene.
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 44 (19), 2976 - 2979.

B. Schade, K. Ludwig, C. Böttcher, U. Hartnagel and A. Hirsch (2007)
Molecular structure of 5nm Spherical Micelles with D3-Symmetry Assembled of Amphiphilic [3:3]-Hexakisadducts of C60.
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 46, 4393-4396.

C. M. Jäger, A. Hirsch, B. Schade, C. Böttcher and T. Clark (2009)
Counterions control the self-assembly of structurally persistent micelles: Theoretical prediction and exprimental observation of stabilization by sodium ions.
Chem. Eur. J. 15 (34), 8586 - 8592.

C. M. Jäger, A. Hirsch, B. Schade, K. Ludwig, Christoph Böttcher and T. Clark (2010)
Self-Assembly of Structurally Persistent Micelles Is Controlled by Specific-Ion Effects and Hydrophobic Guests.
Langmuir 26 (13), 10460 - 10466.

B. Trappmann, K. Ludwig, M. R. Radowski, A. Shukla, A. Mohr, H. Rehage, C. Böttcher and Rainer Haag (2010)
A New Family of Nonionic Dendritic Amphiphiles Displaying Unexpected Packing Parameters in Micellar Assemblies.
J. Am. Chem. Soc. 132 (32), 11119 - 11124.