Systematic Botany and Geography of Plants

Research group of Prof. Dr. Thomas Borsch

The Group Borsch at Freie Universität Berlin is part of the Institute of Biology and a member of the Dahlem Center of Plant Sciences. In our research group we investigate the evolution of flowering plants from different aspects.

Head: Prof. Dr. Thomas Borsch

The main focus of Prof. Dr. Thomas Borsch is the reconstruction of the phylogeny of the flowering plants as well as the emergence of biological diversity, which he investigates on model groups like the Amaranthaceae and Nymphaeaceae. He also concentrates on morphology and ultrastructure of pollen as taxonomic characters. Another focus lies on the sustainable use of biological diversity and genetical resources.

Postdoc: Dr. Ludo Muller

Dr. Ludo Muller's main research interests lie in the fields of population genetics and conservation genetics of flowering plants. More specifically, he is interested in the genetic basis of local adaptation to extreme environments (e.g. serpentine and heavy metal polluted soils, arid environments, etc.) and the mechanisms underlying the evolution of adaptive traits within plant species. Further information is given at: http://userpage.fu-berlin.de/ludom/

Postdoc: Michael Grünstäudl, PhD

The research interests of Michael Grünstäudl, PhD focus on three areas: (a) phylogeny reconstruction with complete plastid genomes ("phylogenomics") using next-generation sequencing data, (b) the application of bioinformatic models in hybrid identification and the reconstruction of the biogeographic history of a plant lineage, and (c) the use of coalescent models in inferring gene and species trees. Particular focus is currently placed on the order Nymphaeales as well as the sunflower family (Asteraceae).

 

Teaching

We are involved in several courses of the Institute of Biology. Within the bachelor programme, we cover the lecture “Das Pflanzenreich” and supervise the courses „Bestimmungsübungen“ and „Grundpraktikum“ of the “Modul Botanik”. In the master programme „Evolution und Biodiversität II“ we provide courses in the “Modul Evolution und Biodiversität II.

Interested in our evolutionary botany?

Are you interested in evolutionary research? We are looking for interested students to work in our group. We offer the possibility to perform a Projekt-, Bachelor- and Masterthesis within the above described areas. Besides standard laboratory methods like DNA isolation, PCR, Gel electrophoresis the diverse fields of activity allow to learn more specialized methods. Please contact us for further information!

Systematische Botanik und Pflanzengeographie

Arbeitsgruppe Prof. Dr. Thomas Borsch

Die AG Borsch an der Freien Universität Berlin ist Teil des Instituts für Biologie und Mitglied des Dahlem Center of Plant Sciences. Wir erforschen verschiedene Aspekte der Evolution der Blütenpflanzen.

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Thomas Borsch

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt von Prof. Dr. Thomas Borsch liegt in der Rekonstruktion der Phylogenie der Blütenpflanzen sowie der Entstehung biologischer Diversität, die er anhand von verschiedenen Modellgruppen wie den Amaranthaceae und den Nymphaeaceae untersucht. Zudem beschäftigt er sich mit Morphologie und Ultrastruktur der Pollen als taxonomische Merkmale und dem Schutz sowie der nachhaltigen Nutzung biologischer Diversität und genetischer Ressourcen.

Postdoc: Michael Grünstäudl, PhD

Die Forschungsinteressen von Michael Grünstäudl, PhD liegen in drei Bereichen: (a) der Phylogenie-Analyse kompletter Plastiden-Genome ("Phylogenomik") mit Hilfe von next-generation-sequencing, (b) der Anwendung von bioinformatischen Modellen zu den Themen historische Biogeographie und Hybrid-Identifizierung, und (c) der Anwendung von coalescent models zur Analyse von gene- und species trees. Derzeit bearbeitete Gruppen umfassen die Ordnung der Seerosengewächse (Nymphaeales) sowie die Familie der Korbblütler (Asteraceae).

Postdoc: Dr. Katja Reichel

Dr. Katja Reichel erforscht, wie pflanzliche Evolution funktioniert. Dazu nutzt sie eine breite Vielfalt an Arbeitsweisen, von mathematischen Modellen über DNA-Analysen bis zu ökologischen Methoden. Besonders fasziniert sie die Fähigkeit vieler Pflanzen zur asexuellen Vermehrung, die ihrerseits zu unserem Verständnis der Evolution von Sex beitragen könnte. Ihre aktuellen Forschungsthemen liegen auf den Gebieten der theoretischen Populationsgenetik und Naturschutzgenetik.

 

Lehre

Wir sind an verschiedenen Lehrveranstaltungen innerhalb des Instituts für Biologie beteiligt. In den Bachelorstudiengängen tragen wir zum Basismodul „Botanik und Biodiversität“, zum Vertiefungsmodul „Biodiversität und Evolution von Pflanzen/Tieren“ und zum Aufbaumodul „Systematische Biologie“ bei. Auch auf dem Masterniveau bieten wir vielfältige Kurse mit Bezug zu unseren aktuellen Forschungsthemen an.

Interesse an der Evolution von Pflanzen?

Wir suchen stets interessierte Studierende, die in unserer Arbeitsgruppe mitarbeiten möchten. Wir bieten die Möglichkeit von Projekt-, Bachelor-, Master- und Doktorarbeiten zu den oben genannten Themenkreisen. Neben Standardmethoden der Molekularbiologie (z.B. DNA-Isolation, PCR, Gel-Elektrophorese) können je nach Fachgebiet viele verschiedene Methoden erlernt werden. Bei Interesse wenden Sie sich bitte an uns!