Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Pharmacist Ferdinand Weinelt

FWe160

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Address
Kelchstr. 31
Room 138 A
12169 Berlin
Email
ferdinand.weinelt[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae

03/2018

Doctoral student at the Graduate Research Training Program “PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling“ at the Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry supervised by Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft at the Freie Universitaet Berlin

05/2017 - 10/2017

Internship in the Department of Pharmaceutics at University of Florida Gainesville

11/2016 - 04/2017

Internship in Pharmacy at Fortuna Apotheke in Heidelberg

09/2015

Internship in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry at Ruprecht-Karls University Heidelberg

03/2015 – 05/2015

ERASMUS-Internship in the Department of Pharmacology at Charles University Prague

03/2014

Internship in the Department of Formulations at Dr. Willmar Schwabe GmbH in Karlsruhe

08/2013

Internship in Pharmacy at Römer Apotheke in Heidelberg

10/2012 - 10/2016

Studies of Pharmacy at Ruprecht-Karls-Universität, Heidelberg

06/2012

Abitur at the Kopernikus Gymnasium Wasseralfingen


Project title: Optimisation of antibiotic therapy in critically ill patients using population pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic modelling and simulation

 

Project aims:

For an effective fight of bacterial infections, a pathogen- and patient-specific treatment is needed. Not only the spectrum of activity, but also appropriate dosing and the resulting effective concentration-time profile at the site of infection of the antibiotic drug is important for the pathogen specific treatment. Between and within different bacterial species this effective concentration-time profile can vary. In addition, the drug-concentration-time profile associated to the same dosing regimen can differ within populations of patients. Especially in critically ill patients, large variability, due to physiological changes related to their state of disease, is observed. Since most dosing recommendations are based on clinical data of healthy volunteers or patients with a specific disease, dosing recommendations for critically ill patients on a scientific basis are challenging. The use of a uniform dosing regimen bears the risk of subtherapeutic or toxic concentration-time profiles and therefore the risk of treatment failure, adverse drug reactions and a further proceeding of bacterial resistance.  

Based on these considerations, my PhD project will focus on evaluating the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of frequently used antibiotics in critically ill patients. Based on both drug concentrations in serum and patient-specific characteristics a population pharmacokinetic, non-linear mixed-effects model is going to be developed. In a first step, the pharmacokinetics of the antibiotic is characterised, i.e. the typical concentration-time profile is described and different levels of variability between and within the patients are quantified. In a second step, covariates (such as demographics, physiological or disease-related parameters) are identified explaining the observed variabilities. The final pharmacometric model shall be used to examine currently used dosing regimens with a focus on effective concentration-time profiles of the antibiotic drug in critically ill patients and if needed to propose more effective dosing schemes. By this approach, it is intended to contribute to a successful treatment for every patient and to prevent a further emergence and spread of bacterial resistance.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Apotheker Ferdinand Weinelt

FWe160

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse
Kelchstr. 31
Raum 138 A
12169 Berlin
E-Mail
ferdinand.weinelt[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae

seit 03/2018

Doktorand (Graduiertenprogramm „PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling“) im AK Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft an der Freien Universität Berlin

05/2017 - 10/2017

Zweite Hälfte des Praktischen Jahres für Pharmazeuten, University of Florida, Gainesville

11/2016 - 04/2017

Erste Hälfte des Praktischen Jahres für Pharmazeuten, Fortuna Apotheke, Heidelberg

09/2015

Praktikum in der Abteilung für Medizinische Chemie, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität, Heidelberg

03/2015 – 05/2015

ERASMUS-Praktikum in der Abteilung für Pharmakologie, Karls Universität, Prag

03/2014

Famulatur in der Galenischen Entwicklung, Dr. Willmar Schwabe GmbH, Karlsruhe

08/2013

Famulatur, Römer Apotheke, Heidelberg

10/2012 - 10/2016

Studium der Pharmazie, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität, Heidelberg

06/2012

Abitur am Kopernikus Gymnasium Wasseralfingen

Projekttitel: Antibiotikatherapieoptimierung in Intensivpatienten mit Hilfe von populationspharmakokinetischer -pharmakodynamischer Modellierung und Simulation

 

Beschreibung des Projektes:

Um eine effektive Bekämpfung von bakteriellen Infektionen zu gewährleisten, ist eine zielgerichtete, erreger- und patientenspezifische Antibiotikatherapie notwendig. Für eine erregerspezifische Therapie ist nicht nur das Wirkungsspektrum des Antibiotikums, sondern auch ein geeignete Dosierung und das daraus resultierende effektive Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofil am Infektionsort von zentraler Bedeutung. Dieses kann sich nicht nur zwischen verschiedenen Bakterienarten, sondern auch innerhalb einer Art, falls es schon zur Ausbildung eines Resistenzmechanismus gekommen ist, unterscheiden. Zusätzlich kann es in einer Patientenpopulation zu erheblicher Variabilität in dem zur Dosierung korrespondierenden Arzneimittelkonzentrations-Zeitprofil kommen. Auf Grund von krankheitsbedingen physiologischen Veränderungen ist diese Situation besonders häufig bei multimorbiden Intensivpatienten zu beobachten. Da die meisten Dosierungsempfehlungen auf Daten von typisch kranken oder gesunden Populationen beruhen, ist eine wissenschaftliche begründete Dosierungsempfehlung in diesen Fällen allerdings sehr schwierig. Die Nutzung einer Standarddosierung in Intensivpatienten birgt das Risiko von subtherapeutischen oder toxischen Konzentrations-Zeitprofilen und kann so zu einem Therapieversagen, vermehrten unerwünschten Arzneimittelwirkungen oder zur Resistenzentwicklung der Bakterien beitragen.

Deshalb werde ich in meinem Promotionsprojekt die Pharmakokinetik von häufig eingesetzten Antibiotika nach Standarddosierung in Intensivpatienten untersuchen. Hierzu soll basierend auf Serumkonzentrationen des Antibiotikums und patientenspezifischer Charakteristika ein populationspharmakokinetisches, „non-linear mixed effects“ Modell entwickelt werden. In einem ersten Schritt wird die Pharmakokinetik des Antibiotikums charakterisiert, das heißt das typische Konzentrations-Zeitprofil beschrieben und die verschiedenen Ebenen der Variabilitäten zwischen und innerhalb der Patienten quantifiziert. In einem zweiten Schritt werden Kovariaten (z.B. demographische Parameter, Erkrankungsparameter) identifiziert, die interindividuelle Variabilitäten erklären können. Mit Hilfe des Modells können danach verwendete Dosierungsschemata mit dem Fokus auf dem Erreichen von effektiven Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofilen in Intensivpatienten überprüft und gegebenenfalls effektivere Dosisregime vorgeschlagen werden. Auf diese Weise soll der Therapieerfolg für jeden Patienten gewährleistet und eine weitere Resistenzausbreitung der Bakterien verhindert werden.