Pharmacist Viktoria Stachanow

Viktoria Stachanow

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address
Kelchstr. 31
Room 130 A
12169 Berlin
Email
viktoria.stachanow[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum vitae

Since 07/2017

Doctoral student at the Graduate Research Training Program “PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling“ at the Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry supervised by Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft at the Freie Universitaet Berlin

11/2016 – 04/2017

Pre-registration internship at Pfizer Pharma PFE GmbH, Berlin, Abteilung Zulassung

05/2016 – 10/2015

Pre-registration internship at St. Hubertus Apotheke, Bonn

04/2012 – 04/2016

Degree in Pharmacy at Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

09/2011 – 02/2012

Voluntary Year of Social Service

07/2011

A-Level (Abitur) at Mädchengymnasium Jülich

Forschungslinie 2: Pharmacometric data analysis

“Optimisation of cortisol substitution therapy by employing pharmacometric methods”

Exogenous cortisol (as drug substance also known as hydrocortisone) has been used for decades as substitution therapy in treatment of adrenocortical insufficiency. The primary adrenocortical insufficiency in children and adolescents is most commonly caused by congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH). CAH is a group of autosomal recessively inherited metabolic diseases comprising a disorder of the cortisol biosynthesis due to a deficiency of the enzyme steroid 21-hydroxylase. Consequences are an overproduction of androgens and occurrence of symptoms such as virilisation, hirsutism, premature pseudo puberty, prematurely ended longitudinal growth as well as electrolyte imbalance caused by underproduction of mineralocorticoids.

The glucocorticoid of choice for therapy of CAH is hydrocortisone because of its short half-life and low potency. The substitution therapy requires particular caution as too high cortisol concentrations increase the risk for Cushing’s syndrome, whereas too low cortisol concentrations can result in Addisonian crisis or can lead to disease progression. Furthermore, the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis causes a circadian rhythm of the cortisol biosynthesis, whereby the cortisol concentration reaches its maximum in the morning and decreases over the course of the day. For a successful suppression of the androgen overproduction and mineralocorticoid underproduction, it is important to mimic these concentration fluctuations and electrolyte homeostasis by means of the substitution therapy. Therefore, the substitution therapy with hydrocortisone, especially in paediatric patients, requires therapy optimisation, which can be achieved by means of therapeutic drug monitoring (TDM). Within TDM the drug concentration is measured regularly in the plasma and, if necessary, the dose is adjusted in accordance to measured exposure in order to obtain an optimal effect.

Pharmacometrics, in particular the nonlinear mixed-effects modelling approach, offers a powerful means for therapy optimisation. In our working group data from clinical studies with initially healthy adults and later in paediatric CAH patients were analysed in order to understand and to characterise the underlying mechanisms of the pharmacokinetics (PK) of hydrocortisone in form of both licensed and new formulations. On that basis, in order to describe and enable prediction of the relationships between the PK and pharmacodynamics (PD) of hydrocortisone, a semi-mechanistic PK/PD and disease model was established.

Based on these results, the objective of my PhD project is to develop more comprehensive pharmacometric models by using data from further clinical studies, literature and repositories. In order to obtain options for an improved and more successful dosing regimen, further knowledge on the PK and PD of hydrocortisone linked to characteristics of the dynamics of the physiological and pathophysiological networks in the patient’s body shall be gained. Moreover, in order to measure the outcome of the substitution therapy or the progression of the disease, inter alia, the cortisol precursor 17-α-hydroxyprogesterone (17-OHP) and the testosterone precursor androstendione shall be used as biomarkers during the clinical studies. Finally, the development of new physiologic and mechanistically based models shall contribute to the therapy optimisation of CAH in paediatric patients. The ultimate goal of this project is the establishment and evaluation of model-informed TDM, which can be implemented into clinical routine.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Apothekerin Viktoria Stachanow

Viktoria Stachanow

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse
Kelchstr. 31
Raum 130 A
12169 Berlin
E-Mail
viktoria.stachanow[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum vitae

seit 07/2017

Doktorandin (Graduiertenprogramm „PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling“) im AK Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft an der Freien Universität Berlin

11/2016 – 04/2017

Pharmazeutin im Praktikum bei Pfizer Pharma PFE GmbH, Berlin, Abteilung Zulassung

05/2016 – 10/2015

Pharmazeutin im Praktikum in der St. Hubertus Apotheke, Bonn

04/2012 – 04/2016

Studium der Pharmazie an der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

09/2011 – 02/2012

Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr

07/2011

Abitur am Mädchengymnasium Jülich

Forschungslinie 2: Pharmakometrische Datenanalyse

„Optimierung der Cortisol-Substitutionstherapie durch Nutzung pharmakometrischer Methoden”

Extern zugeführtes Cortisol (als Arzneistoff Hydrocortison genannt) wird seit Jahrzehnten als Substitutionstherapie bei Nebennierenrindeninsuffizienz eingesetzt. Häufigste Ursache für eine primäre Nebenniereninsuffizienz ist bei Kindern und Jugendlichen das Adrenogenitale Syndrom (AGS). Dies ist eine Gruppe autosomal-rezessiv vererbter Stoffwechselerkrankungen, bei der meist durch einen Mangel des Enzyms Steroid-21-Hydroxylase eine Störung der Cortisolbiosynthese vorliegt. Dies führt zu einer Überproduktion an Androgenen und zu Symptomen wie Virilisierung, Hirsutismus, verfrühte Pseudopubertät, frühzeitig beendetes Längenwachstum sowie Störungen des Elektrolythaushalts durch verminderte Produktion von Mineralocorticoiden.

Das Glucocorticoid der Wahl für die Therapie von AGS ist Hydrocortison als Cortisol-Ersatz aufgrund seiner kurzen Halbwertszeit und niedrigen Potenz. Bei der Substitutionstherapie ist besondere Vorsicht geboten, da zu hohe Cortisolkonzentrationen das Risiko für Cushing-Syndrom erhöhen und zu niedrige Cortisolkonzentrationen in einer Addison-Krise resultieren oder die Erkrankung fortschreiten lassen können. Zudem verursacht die Hypothalamus-Hypophysen-Nebennierenrinden (HPA)-Achse einen zirkadianen Rhythmus der Cortisolbiosynthese, bei dem die Cortisolkonzentration am Morgen ihr Maximum erreicht und im Laufe des Tages sinkt. Für die erfolgreiche Unterdrückung der Androgen-Überproduktion und Mineralocorticoid-Unterproduktion ist es ebenfalls wichtig, mit der Substitutionstherapie diese zirkadianen Konzentrationsschwankungen und die Elektrolythomöostase nachzuahmen. Für die Substitutionstherapie mit Hydrocortison besteht somit vor allem bei pädiatrischen Patienten ein erhöhter Bedarf an Therapieoptimierung, welche durch ein Therapeutisches Drug Monitoring (TDM) erfolgen kann. Hierbei wird nach regelmäßiger Kontrolle der Arzneistoffkonzentration im Plasma die Dosis, falls erforderlich, individuell angepasst, um eine optimale Wirkung zu erzielen.

Eine Therapieoptimierung kann mit Hilfe des Wissenschaftsbereichs Pharmakometrie erreicht werden, insbesondere durch den „Nonlinear-mixed-effects“-Ansatz. In unserem Arbeitskreis wurden hierfür Daten aus Klinischen Studien zunächst mit gesunden Erwachsenen und danach mit pädiatrischen AGS-Patienten analysiert, um die zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen der Pharmakokinetik (PK) von Hydrocortison in zugelassener und neuer Formulierung zu verstehen und zu charakterisieren. Auf dieser Grundlage wurde, um die Zusammenhänge zwischen der PK und PD der Hydrocortisontherapie zu beschreiben und zu vorhersagen, ein semi-mechanistisches Pharmakokinetik/Pharmakodynamik (PK/PD)-/Krankheits-Modell entwickelt.

Aufbauend auf diesen Ergebnissen sollen im Rahmen meines Dissertationsprojekts mit Hilfe von Daten aus weiteren Klinischen Studien, der Literatur und Repositorys umfassendere pharmakometrische Modelle entwickelt werden. Dabei sollen weitere Erkenntnisse zur PK und PD von Hydrocortison in Verknüpfung mit Charakteristika der Dynamik physiologischer und pathophysiologischer Netzwerke im Patientenkörper und somit zu Möglichkeiten der gelungenen Dosisfindung gewonnen werden. Um den Erfolg der Substitutionstherapie bzw. den Krankheitsstatus messen zu können, sollen außerdem im Rahmen der Klinischen Studien u.a. die Cortisol-Vorstufe 17-α-Hydroxyprogesteron (17-OHP) und die Testosteron-Vorstufe Androstendion als Biomarker verwendet werden. Schließlich soll die Entwicklung neuer physiologischer und Mechanismus-basierter Modelle zur Therapieoptimierung bei pädiatrischen AGS-Patienten beitragen. Das letztendliche Ziel dieses Projekts ist die Entwicklung und Evaluierung eines TDM, das im Klinischen Alltag eingesetzt werden kann.