Pharmacist and Diploma-Pharmacist Johanna Seeger

Johanna Seeger

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address
Kelchstr. 31
Room 242
12169 Berlin
Email
johanna.seeger[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae

 

Since 05/2017

Doctoral student at the Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry supervised by Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft at the Freie Universitaet Berlin

07/2017

Registration as a Pharmacist

11/2016 - 04/2017

Internship at Lichtenberg Apotheke, Berlin

05/2016 - 10/2016

Diploma student in the Clinical Pharmacy, Prof. Dr. C. Kloft

04/2012 - 03/2016

Studies of Pharmacy, Freie Universität Berlin

09/2012 and 03/2013

Internship at Galenus-Apotheke, Berlin

07/2009

Bachelor of Nursing, Protestant University of Applied Sciences Berlin

06/2004

A-levels (Abitur), Katholische Theresienschule, Berlin

Focus of research

Research pillar 1: Bioanalysis/microdialysis and in vitro systems/cell culture

In vitro investigations of pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic relations for optimisation of antibiotic therapy

Prevention of emergence and spread of antibiotic resistance is an important challenge in anti-infective therapy. Antibiotic resistance is promoted by poor therapy adherence, which can be related to adverse drug reactions, as well as by inefficient therapy regimens that result in insufficient drug concentrations at the infection site. This leads to selection of pathogens with low susceptibility against the antibiotic agent and spread of resistant strains. Therefore, dosing optimisation is of high importance for reducing adverse drug effects and emergence of resistance. Knowledge about the relationship between pharmacokinetics (PK) and pharmacodynamics (PD) of an antibiotic agent is crucial to characterise the pharmacodynamic effect of different dosing regimens of a drug. In silico simulations predict concentration-time profiles (C-t profiles) of certain dosing regimens and make it possible to mimic their PD effect in the dynamic in vitro infection model. Knowledge about bacterial growth and time kill behaviour is generated by quantification of antibiotic-exposed bacteria. Since the dynamic in vitro infection model provides drug exposures comparable to infection sites in humans, identification of appropriate dosing regimens for the treatment of particular infectious diseases is possible. At the same time, the investigation of bacterial characteristics, such as cell size and genetic properties, provides information about emergence of resistance and underlying resistance mechanisms. Thereby, dosing regimens that promote or prevent selection of resistant strains and emergence of resistance can be identified. The clinical relevance of different PK/PD parameters, which are used to describe PK/PD relations in antibiotic therapy, is a current topic of discussion. Data generated from dynamic in vitro experiments can contribute to the identification of the most predictive parameters.

 

The focus of my PhD project is the investigation of different dosing regimens of the fluoroquinolone levofloxacin (LEV) and its PD effects against the gram negative enterobacterium Escherichia coli (E. coli). Dosing optimisation for fluoroquinolones is of high importance, because next to beta-lactam antibiotics and aminoglycosides they belong to the “critical important” antimicrobials and spread of fluoroquinolone resistance is considered to be especially worrying. Furthermore, the serious adverse drug reactions of fluoroquinolones are a frequent subject of public criticism, which highlights the importance of dosing optimisation to promote therapy adherence and hereby reduce emergence and spread of resistance. E coli is a prevalent cause of bloodstream infections, urinary tract infections, skin and soft tissue infections and exposes increasing fluoroquinolone resistance. Besides alteration of target enzymes, such as bacterial DNA gyrase and topoisomerase IV, reduced intracellular antibiotic concentration due to decreased membrane permeability and expression of efflux pumps are most common resistance mechanisms.

The objective of my investigations in the dynamic in vitro infection model is the identification of resistance mechanisms resulting from different dosing regimens of LEV against E. coli, generating knowledge about PK/PD relations and hereby to contribute to the optimisation of antimicrobial therapy.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Apothekerin und Diplom-Pharmazeutin Johanna Seeger

Johanna Seeger

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse
Kelchstr. 31
Raum 242
12169 Berlin
E-Mail
johanna.seeger[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae

seit 05/2017

Doktorand im AK Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft an der Freien Universität Berlin

07/2017

Approbation als Apothekerin

11/2016 - 04/2017

Pharmazeutin im Praktikum in der Lichtenberg Apotheke, Berlin

05/2016 - 10/2016

Diplomandin im AK Klinische Pharmazie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft

04/2012 - 03/2016

Studium der Pharmazie, Freie Universität Berlin

09/2012 und 03/2013

Famulatur in der Galenus-Apotheke, Berlin

07/2009

Bachelor of Nursing, Evangelische Fachhochschule Berlin

06/2004

Abitur, Katholische Theresienschule, Berlin

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Forschungslinie 1: Bioanalytik/Mikrodialyse und In-vitro-Systeme/Zellkultur

Optimierung der Antibiotikatherapie durch In-vitro-Untersuchung pharmakokinetisch - pharmakodynamischer Zusammenhänge

Die Entstehung und Verbreitung resistenter Erreger zu verhindern, ist eine der wichtigsten Herausforderungen in der Antibiotikatherapie. Resistenzbildung wird einerseits durch mangelnde Therapieadhärenz, zum Beispiel den vorzeitigen Therapieabbruch aus Angst vor unerwünschten Arzneimittelwirkungen (UAWs), gefördert. Andererseits werden mit ungeeigneten Dosierungsschemata keine ausreichend hohen Antibiotikakonzentrationen am Wirkort über einen ausreichend langen Zeitraum erreicht. Dies führt zur Selektion von Erregern mit geringer Empfindlichkeit gegenüber dem eingesetzten Antibiotikum und trägt somit zur Verbreitung resistenter Stämme bei. Die optimale Dosierung spielt daher eine entscheidende Rolle, um UAWs und Resistenzbildung zu vermeiden. Zur Beschreibung des pharmakodynamischen Effekts verschiedener Dosierungsmöglichkeiten eines Arzneistoffes ist die Kenntnis der Zusammenhänge zwischen Pharmakokinetik (PK) und Pharmakodynamik (PD) von großer Bedeutung. Mit Hilfe von In-silico-Simulationen können die aus einem konkreten Dosierungsschema resultierenden Konzentrations-Zeitprofile (C-t-Profile) vorhergesagt werden. Durch Nachahmung dieser C-t-Profile im dynamischen In-vitro-Infektionsmodell kann der PD-Effekt eines Dosierungsschemas eines Antibiotikums auf eine Bakterienpopulation im Labor systematisch untersucht werden. Durch Quantifizierung der exponierten Bakterien lässt sich Wissen generieren über das Wachstums- bzw. Absterbeverhalten von Bakterienpopulationen unter dem Einfluss von Arzneistoffexpositionen, die mit jenen am Infektionsort im menschlichen Körper vergleichbar sind. Dies ermöglicht die Identifizierung von Dosierungsmöglichkeiten, die für die Therapie bestimmter Infektionserkrankungen geeignet sind. Gleichzeitig gibt die Untersuchung spezifischer Eigenschaften der Bakterien, wie der Größe der Bakterienzellen und ihrer genetischen Ausstattung, Aufschluss über die Entwicklung von Resistenzmechanismen. So kann beurteilt werden, welche Dosierungsschemata die Bildung von Resistenzen und die Selektion resistenter Stämme stärker fördern bzw. verhindern als andere. Zur Beschreibung von PK/PD-Zusammenhängen in der Antibiotikatherapie werden verschiedene Parameter, sog. PK/PD-Indices, herangezogen. Ihre Relevanz hinsichtlich der klinischen Wirksamkeit des Arzneistoffes wird immer wieder kontrovers diskutiert. Die in dynamischen In-vitro-Experimenten gewonnenen PK- und PD-Daten können genutzt werden, um neue Erkenntnisse über PK/PD-Zusammenhänge zu gewinnen und klinisch relevante PK/PD-Indices zu ermitteln.

Im Rahmen meiner Promotion beschäftige ich mich insbesondere mit verschiedenen Dosierungsmöglichkeiten des Fluorchinolons Levofloxacin (LEV) und ihren PD-Effekten auf das gramnegative Enterobakterium Escherichia coli (E. coli). Die zunehmende Verbreitung von Resistenzen gegen Fluorchinolone wird als besonders kritisch eingeschätzt. Gleichzeitig ist diese Antibiotikagruppe aufgrund schwerwiegender UAWs immer wieder Gegenstand öffentlicher Kritik, weshalb eine optimale Dosierung besonders wichtig ist. E. coli ist ein verbreiteter Erreger von Sepsis, Urogenitaltraktinfektionen sowie von Haut- und Weichteilinfektionen und zeigt häufig Resistenz gegenüber Fluorchinolonen. Resistenzmechanismen sind neben der Mutation der Zielstrukturen von LEV, der bakteriellen Typ II-Topoisomerasen, auch die Reduzierung der intrazellulären Antibiotikakonzentration durch verminderte Membranpermeabilität und durch Exprimierung von Effluxpumpen durch resistente Bakterien.

Die Untersuchung des PD-Effekts verschiedener Dosierungsmöglichkeiten von LEV gegen Infektionen mit E. coli im dynamischen In-vitro-Infektionsmodell soll die aus verschiedenen Dosierungsmöglichkeiten resultierenden Resistenzmechanismen identifizieren und neue Erkenntnisse über relevante PK/PD-Parameter generieren, um so einen Beitrag zur Optimierung der Antibiotikatherapie zu leisten.