Pharmacist Josefine Schulz

JSch160a

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address
Kelchstr. 31
Room 238
12169 Berlin
Email
josefine.schulz[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae

Since 04/2018

Doctoral student at the Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry supervised by Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft at the Freie Universitaet Berlin

02/2018- 04/2018

Pharmacist at BerlinApotheke an der Charité, Berlin

01/2018

Registration as a Pharmacist

05/2017- 10/2017

Pharmacist in pre-registration year, Ruppiner Kliniken GmbH , Neuruppin (hospital pharmacy)

11/2016- 04/2017

Pharmacist in pre-registration year, BerlinApotheke an der Charité, Berlin (public pharmacy)

09/2015

Internship at Midwestern University, Chicago, USA

07/2013

Internship at St. Hedwig Krankenhaus, Berlin

03/2013

Internship at Sabelus Apotheke, Königs Wusterhausen OT Zeesen

10/2012-09/2016

Studies of Pharmacy, Freie Universität Berlin

06/2011

A-Levels (Abitur), Friedrich-Wilhelm-Gymnasium, Königs Wusterhausen

The focus of my research work is the optimisation of anti-infective therapy. Commonly, during clinical investigations blood or plasma samples are obtained to determine therein the total concentration of a drug. This procedure has two major drawbacks: first, the blood stream is only rarely the site of the infection and second, only the fraction unbound to plasma proteins is pharmacologically active. Thus, I will use the methodology of microdialysis, which enables to minimally invasively sample the unbound analyte directly at the target site, as only this fraction can diffuse across the microdialysis membrane. To achieve reliable results in in vivo experiments, in vitro investigations are necessary. I therefore examine the feasibility of specific clinical questions as well as influencing factors, e.g. on the relative recovery of an analyte (active agent, metabolite, biomarker) in the microdialysate, in the in vitro microdialysis system.

Thereby I focus on the triazole antifungal voriconazole that is approved for instance in the treatment of invasive aspergillosis and candidiasis in non-neutropenic patients. Voriconazole is nearly completely metabolised in the liver by cytochrome P450 enzymes (CYP) and shows a significant inhibition of those. Moreover, polymorphisms in the gene encoding for CYP2C19 play an important role in the metabolism and as a consequence in the exposure of the body to the drug.

Consequently, for the development of safe and effective dosing regimens it is inevitable to characterise quantitatively and mechanistically the distribution to the target site and the metabolic pathway as well as the contribution of the metabolites to the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of voriconazole.

In order to reliably analyse the in vitro and in vivo obtained microdialysate and plasma samples, a HPLC-MS/MS will be established for the simultaneous quantification of voriconazole and its metabolites and validated according to the EMA guidelines.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Apothekerin Josefine Schulz

JSch160a

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Adresse
Kelchstr. 31
Raum 238
12169 Berlin
E-Mail
josefine.schulz[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae

seit 04/2018

Doktorandin im AK Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft an der Freien Universität Berlin

02/2018- 04/2018

Apothekerin in der BerlinApotheke an der Charité, Abteilung Sterillabor

01/2018

Approbation als Apothekerin

05/2017- 10/2017

Pharmazeutin im Praktikum in der Apotheke der Ruppiner Kliniken GmbH, Neuruppin

11/2016- 04/2017

Pharmazeutin im Praktikum in der BerlinApotheke an der Charité, Berlin

09/2015

Praktikum an der Midwestern University, Chicago, USA

07/2013

Famulatur in der Apotheke des St. Hedwig Krankenhaus, Berlin

03/2013

Famulatur in der Sabelus Apotheke, Königs Wusterhausen OT Zeesen

10/2012-09/2016

Studium der Pharmazie, Freie Universität Berlin

06/2011

Abitur Friedrich-Wilhelm-Gymnasium, Königs Wusterhausen

Der Schwerpunkt meiner Forschungsarbeit liegt in der Optimierung der Antiinfektivatherapie. Üblicherweise werden während klinischer Untersuchungen Blut- bzw. Plasmaproben gewonnen und darin die Gesamtkonzentration des Arzneistoffs bestimmt. Dieses Vorgehen hat allerdings zwei wesentliche Nachteile: zum einen ist das Blut nur selten der Ort der Infektion selbst und zum anderen trägt nur der nicht an Plasmaproteine gebundene Wirkstoffanteil zur pharmakologischen Wirkung bei. Ich nutze daher die Methode der Mikrodialyse, mit der es möglich ist, minimalinvasiv direkt am Wirkort die ungebundene Arzneistoffkonzentration zu bestimmen, da nur diese Fraktion die Mikrodialysemembran passieren kann. Um aussagekräftige Ergebnisse in In-vivo-Experimenten zu erhalten, sind In-vitro-Modelle notwendig. Ich untersuche daher im In-vitro-Mikrodialysesystem die Durchführbarkeit spezieller klinischer Fragestellungen sowie verschiedene Einflussfaktoren zum Beispiel auf die relative Wiederfindung des Analyten (Wirkstoff, Metabolit, Biomarker) im Mikrodialysat.

Dabei konzentriere ich mich auf das Triazol-Antimykotikum Voriconazol, das unter anderem zur Behandlung von invasiven Aspergillosen und Candidämie bei nicht neutropenischen Patienten zugelassen ist. Voriconazol wird fast vollständig in der Leber von Cytochrom P450-Enzymen (CYP) metabolisiert und weist eine ausgeprägte Inhibition dieser auf. Weiterhin spielen Polymorphismen des für CYP2C19 codierenden Gens eine wesentliche Rolle für den Metabolismus von Voriconazol und somit in der Exposition des Körpers mit Arzneistoff und Metaboliten.

Zur Entwicklung sicherer und effektiver Dosierschemata ist es daher unabdingbar, die Verteilung an den Wirkort und den Stoffwechselweg quantitativ und mechanistisch genau zu charakterisieren sowie den Beitrag der Metabolite zur Pharmakokinetik und Pharmakodynamik von Voriconazol zu verstehen.

Damit die in vitro und in vivo gewonnenen Mikrodialysat- und Plasmaproben zuverlässig analysiert werden können, soll des Weiteren eine HPLC-MS/MS Methode zur gleichzeitigen Quantifizierung von Voriconazol und seinen Metaboliten entwickelt und nach den Richtlinien der EMA validiert werden.