Springe direkt zu Inhalt

MSc Pharmaceutical Science David Busse

DBu160

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address
Kelchstr. 31
Room 130 A
12169 Berlin
Email
david.busse[at]fu-berlin.de

Since 07/2018

Doctoral student at the Graduate Research Training Program “PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling“ at the Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry supervised by Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft at the Freie Universitaet Berlin

09/2016 – 06/2018

Traineeship AstraZeneca AB, Sweden in Innovative Medicines and Early Development

05/2016– 10/2014

M.Sc. Pharmaceutical Science at Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Germany; 3-month internship at Bayer AG, Germany; master thesis at AstraZeneca AB, Sweden

10/2011 – 07/2014

B.Sc. Molecular Biology at Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany; Erasmus semester at Göteborgs Universitet, Sweden

Research abstract – David Busse

 

Optimisation of antiinfective therapy with selected antibiotics in morbidly obese patients based on pharmacometric modelling and simulation

 

Morbidly obese patients represent a growing but understudied patient population with sparse and oftentimes contradicting information in the field of antiinfective therapy. To guarantee effective and safe treatment of bacterial infections targeted patient and pathogen specific antibiotic therapy is crucial.

For a pathogen specific therapy not only the antimicrobial spectrum of the drug but also adequacy of the dosing regimen and the resulting effective drug concentration-time profile at the target site are important. To measure effective drug concentration at target site, in case of antiinfectives mostly the extracellular interstitial fluid in the tissue, the minimally invasive method microdialysis is selected.

Regarding patient specific antibiotic therapy the oftentimes significant variability of the drug concentration-time profile is of interest. Employing standard dosing regimens bears the risk of subtherapeutic or toxic concentration-time profiles which might lead to therapy failure, increased occurrence of adverse events and development of bacterial resistance.

My dissertation project includes the pharmacometric analysis of frequently employed antibiotics after standard dosing regimens in morbidly obese patients. Based on clinical data on plasma and target site drug concentrations using microdialysis nonlinear mixed effects models will be developed. In a first step the pharmacokinetics of the antibiotics will be characterised, i.e. the population specific concentration-time profile and the different levels of variability between and within patients. In a second step patient specific covariates (e.g. markers of organ function or disease status) will be identified, which explain inter- and intraindividual variability and their impact on model parameters will be quantified.

Simulations based on the developed model can be utilised to evaluate dosing regimens regarding achieving effective pathogen specific drug concentration-time profiles (pharmacodynamics/pharmacokinetic targets) in morbidly obese patients. If need be alternative adequate dosing regimen with reduced adverse events can be suggested. In such an integrative manor knowledge spanning different classes of antibiotics shall be generated. Additionally the aim is to guarantee antiinfective therapy success in this patient population and to reduce the development of further antibiotic resistance.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

MSc Arzneimittelwissenschaften David Busse

DBu160

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse
Kelchstr. 31
Raum 130 A
12169 Berlin
E-Mail
david.busse[at]fu-berlin.de

seit 07/2018

Doktorand (Graduiertenprogramm „PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling“) im AK Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft an der Freien Universität Berlin

09/2016 – 06/2018

Traineeship AstraZeneca AB, Schweden in Innovative Medicines and Early Development

05/2016– 10/2014

M.Sc. Arzneimittelwissenschaften an der Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Deutschland; 3-Monatiges Praktikum bei Bayer AG, Deutschland; Masterarbeit verfasst bei AstraZeneca AB, Sweden

10/2011 – 07/2014

B.Sc. Molekularbiologie an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Deutschland; Erasmus Semester an der Göteborgs Universitet, Schweden

Therapieoptimierung ausgewählter Antibiotika in krankhaft adipösen Patienten basierend auf pharmakometrischer Modellierung und Simulation

 

Krankhaft adipöse Patienten stellen eine wachsende Patientenpopulation dar, über die bisher nur wenige, zum Teil widersprüchliche Erkenntnisse auf dem Gebiet der Antibiotikatherapie gewonnen wurden. Um eine effektive und sichere Bekämpfung bakterieller Infektionen zu gewährleisten, ist jedoch eine zielgerichtete, erreger- und patientenspezifische Antibiotikatherapie unerlässlich.

Für eine erregerspezifische Therapie ist nicht nur das Wirkungsspektrum des Antibiotikums, sondern auch eine geeignete Dosierung und das daraus resultierende effektive Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofil am Wirkort von zentraler Bedeutung. Um effektive Arzneistoffkonzentrationen am Wirkort, im Falle von Antiinfektiva die extrazelluläre Interstitialflüssigkeit von Geweben, zu bestimmen, wird häufig die minimal-invasive Methode der Mikrodialyse eingesetzt.

Mit Hinblick auf eine patientenspezifische Antibiotikatherapie ist die teils erhebliche Variabilität des Arzneimittelkonzentrations-Zeitprofils innerhalb einer Patientenpopulation zu beachten. Die Nutzung einer Standarddosierung birgt das Risiko von subtherapeutischen oder toxischen Konzentrations-Zeitprofilen und kann so zu einem Therapieversagen, vermehrten unerwünschten Arzneimittelwirkungen und zur Resistenzentwicklung der Bakterien beitragen.  

Mein Promotionsprojekt umfasst die pharmakokinetische Analyse häufig eingesetzter Antibiotika nach Standarddosierung in krankhaft adipösen Patienten. Hierzu wird basierend auf erhobenen klinischen Daten zu Plasma- und Wirkortkonzentration des Antibiotikums unter Nutzung der Mikrodialyse ein populationspharmakokinetisches, „Nonlinear mixed-effects“-Modell entwickelt. In einem ersten Schritt wird die Pharmakokinetik des Antibiotikums charakterisiert, also das populationsspezifische Konzentrations-Zeitprofil beschrieben und die verschiedenen Ebenen der Variabilität zwischen und innerhalb der Patienten quantifiziert. In einem zweiten Schritt werden patienten-spezifische Kovariaten (z.B. Organfunktions- und Krankheitsparameter) identifiziert, die inter- und intraindividuelle Variabilitäten erklären, um deren Einfluss auf Modellparameter zu quantifizieren.

Simulationen basierend auf dem entwickelten Modell können verwendet werden um Dosierungsschemata hinsichtlich des Erreichens von effektiven erregerspezifischen Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofilen (pharmakokinetische/pharmakodynamische Zielgrößen) in krankhaft adipösen Patienten zu evaluieren. Gegebenenfalls können effektivere Dosisregime mit weniger unerwünschten Wirkungen vorgeschlagen werden. Auf diese Weise sollen Antibiotika-übergreifende Erkenntnisse gewonnen werden sowie der Therapieerfolg in dieser Patientengruppe gewährleistet und eine weitere bakterielle Resistenzentwicklung verhindert werden.