Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Prof. Hans-Ulrich Reißig celebrated his 70th birthday on 9th May 2019

Reissig 2019

Reissig 2019

News from May 14, 2019

On 9th May, our colleague Hans-Ulrich Reißig celebrated his 70th birthday. His scientific career began with his study of chemistry and following doctorate (Promotion 1978) with Rolf Huisgen at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich. After a postdoctorate with Eduard Piers at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada, he began to work independently at Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg (supervisor: Siegfried Hünig) and got his habilitation in 1984. Funded by a Heisenberg scholarship, Hans Reißig spent another two years as lecturer (Privatdozent) in Würzburg, before he was appointed as C3 professor at Technische Hochschule in Darmstadt in 1986. In 1993 he got a chair for organic chemistry at Technische Universität Dresden and stayed there until he switched to Freie Universität Berlin (1999). During his career, Hans Reißig held a multitude of scientific functions, such as referee for organic chemistry at Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation, 1996-2004), chairman of the selection committee for the Klung-Wilhelmy award for chemistry (2004-2014) and dean of the department BCP (2011-2013). He played an active role in committees of Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation) and as member of the board of the Liebig organization of GDCh and was accepted as corresponding member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences in 2012. In 2014 his lifetime achievement was honoured by the award of the Liebig memorial coin of GDCh. Hans Reißig's interests go far beyond chemistry and comprise culture, particularly classical music and the fine arts.

On the occasion of his 70th birthday, numerous papers of current and former FU colleagues, former coworkers as well as scientific companions and friends from all over the world were dedicated to him:

Beyzavi; Brasholz; Christmann; Eigler, Paulus, Sarkar; Haag; Hackenberger; Jasinski, Mloston; Metz; Müller; Nubbemeyer; Pagel, Koksch, Rademann, Hoffmann; Riedel; Schalley; Werz.

Prof. Dr. Mathias Christmann

- BKi

4 / 59