Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Laboratory of Molecular Ecology

Freie Universität Berlin - Department of Biology, Chemistry, Pharmacy

Institute of Biology

 

Molecular ecology is an interdisciplinary research field which uses molecular methods to approach ecological questions. Our research theme is to elucidate the mechanisms underlying ecological interactions.

 

Our research focuses on insect-plant interactions and how these are influenced in more complex ecological interactions. We investigate these interactions on different levels ranging from the organismic scale (performance and responses of herbivores and their predators, plant fitness) to physiological and molecular parameters of plants and insects (plant metabolites including primary and secondary metabolism, phytohormones, gene transcription, enzymatic activities in plants and insects and insect immune parameter). Specifically we have been and are working on questions concerning:

  • Priming of plant defence by insect oviposition
  • Effects of plant defence on insect immune parameters
  • Molecular patterns of herbivorous insects that function as elicitors of plant defence
  • Costs and benefits of plant defence strategies against insects
  • How plant defence mechanisms interact and are affected by other factors
  • Insect-plant interactions with 3rd trophic level-organisms
  • How phytophagy by omnivorous predators affects plant defence & resistance to herbivores

We use a broad methodology ranging from classical ecological field and greenhouse experiments over chemical analytics (HPLC, GC-MS, UPLC-ESI-MS) to molecular approaches including transcriptomics, sequencing and quantitative RT-PCR and molecular cloning. Our research focuses on two model species, the wild tobacco Nicotiana attenuata and the bittersweet nightshade Solanum dulcamara.

The research of the Molecular Ecology group is integrated in the Dahlem Centre of Plant Science. We are part of the Collaborative Research Centre 973 Priming and Memory of Organismic Responses to Stress, in which we are working in the project B2 Plant priming of anti-herbivore defences by insect oviposition.

Address
Albrecht-Thaer-Weg 6
14195 Berlin
Prof. Dr. Anke Steppuhn
Tele­phone
Email
a.steppuhn[at]fu-berlin.de
CRC 973
Dahlem Centre of Plant Sciences (DCPS)

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

AG Steppuhn - Molekulare Ökologie

Freie Universität Berlin - Fachbereich Biologie, Chemie, Pharmazie

Institut für Biologie

 

Molekulare Ökologie ist ein interdisziplinäres Forschungsgebiet, welches mit Hilfe von molekularen Methoden ökologische Fragestellungen untersucht. Die Forschung der AG Molekulare Ökologie beschäftigt sich mit der Aufklärung der molekularen Mechanismen von Pflanzen-Insekten Interaktionen. 

 

Unsere Forschung beschäftigt sich insbesondere mit Interaktionen zwischen Pflanzen und Insekten und wie diese in komplexeren ökologischen Interaktionen beeinflusst werden. Wir untersuchen diese Interaktionen übergreifend von der organismischen Ebene, wie die Beeinflussung von Entwicklungsparametern, Reaktionen und Verhalten sowie Fitnessparametern, bis zu physiologischen und molekularen Parameter, wie der Akkumulation von Metaboliten und Signalstoffe, Genaktivierung, Enzymaktivitäten und Immunparameter von Pflanzen und Insekten. Dabei beschäftigen wir uns mit Fragen bezüglich

  • eines Priming pflanzlicher Herbivorenabwehr durch eine vorangenganene Insekteneiablage
  • wie sich verschiedene Merkmale der des Immunsystems von Pflanzen und Insekten auswirken
  • welche molekulen Muster bei der Erkennung der Interaktionspartnern dienen
  • der Kosten und des Nutzen pflanzlicher Verteidigungsstrategien gegen herbivore Insekten
  • der Beeinflussung von pflanzlichen Abwehrmechanismen durch andere ökologische Faktoren
  • Interaktionen von Pflanzen und Herbivoren mit Organismen der dritten trophischen Ebene, wie z.B. räuberische Insekten und Prasitoide
  • der Effekte, welche durch die Phytophagie vieler omnivorer Prädatoren auf die Pflanze und dadurch auch auf herbivore Insekten haben

Die von uns verwendete Methodology reicht von aufwendigen ökologischen Experimenten im Feld als auch im Gewächshaus über chemische Analytik (HPLC, GC-MS, UPLC-ESI-MS) zu molekulen Anwendungen (z.B. Transcriptomics, Sequencing, Quantitative RT-PCR). Unsere Forschung fokussiert sich auf die Interaktioen von Nachtschattengewächsen mit verschiedenen Insekten.

Die Forschung der AG Molekulare Ökologie ist im Dahlem Centre of Plant Science integriert. Wir sind Teil des Sonderforschungsbereichs 973 'Priming and Memory of Organismic Responses to Stress', in dem wir das Teilprojekt B2 'Plant priming of anti-herbivore defences by insect oviposition' bearbeiten. 

 

Adresse
Albrecht-Thaer Weg 6
Ge­bäude Altbau
14195 Berlin
Prof. Dr. Anke Steppuhn
CRC 973
Dahlem Centre of Plant Sciences (DCPS)