Biochemist Francis Williams Ojara

Francis Ojara

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address Kelchstr. 31
Room 138A
12169 Berlin
Telephone 030-838 50620
Email francis.ojara[at]fu-berlin.de

 
Curriculum vitae

 

 

Since 06/2016 PhD Student (Graduate Research Training Program “PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modeling”) at the Freie Universitaet Berlin, Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy and Biochemistry supervised by Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft
06/2014-09/2014 Certificate in Principles of Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacometrics. The online theoretical sessions were offered by Hibernia College (Dublin, Republic of Ireland) and the practical, Hands-On session offered by Addis Ababa University, (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia)
09/2012-10/2014 MSc. in Pharmacology at Makerere University, College of Health Sciences, Kampala (Uganda)
Thesis: Pharmacokinetics of cyclophosphamide in endemic Burkitt’s Lymphoma patients attending Uganda Cancer Institute
08/2006-06/2009 BSc. in Biochemistry at Makerere University, College of Natural Sciences, Kampala (Uganda)
03/2004-11/2005 Uganda Advanced Certificate of Education (High School studies)  at St. Joseph’s College, Layibi, Gulu (Uganda)

Focus of research


Forschungslinie 2: Pharmacometric data analysis


Paclitaxel is a component of many regimens used in treating solid tumours. Lung, breast, and ovarian cancer are among the most common cancers globally and are treated with this drug. Non-small-cell lung cancer (NSCLC), a specific variant of lung cancer treated with paclitaxel, accounts for approximately 85% of the overall lung cancer cases. To treat NSCLC, paclitaxel is combined with a platinum-based drug (carboplatin or cisplatin), nowadays.

Significant variability in pharmacokinetics (PK) of paclitaxel has been reported and relations between PK and treatment outcome documented. Neutropenia is the major dose-limiting toxicity of paclitaxel, and dose modification based on the degree of neutropenia has been suggested. Beside neutropenia, other commonly reported toxicities of clinical relevance include neurological and gastro-intestinal toxicities; these also form a basis of dose adaptation during treatment

Striking a balance between efficacy and tolerable toxicity burden is a major challenge of chemotherapy; especially for patients with advanced disease stages of cancers with poor prognosis. To achieve this, it is important to understand the incidences and predictors of treatment-related toxicity, as well as the predictors of tumour response. Upon this, it is possible to undertake treatment modifications based on these predictors (i.e. patient- and treatment-related factors) to achieve the desired treatment outcomes.

My PhD project will involve developing and applying mathematical pharmacometric models using data from a previous dose-modification clinical study. The goals of the analysis will be
to explore which treatment-related characteristics (i.e. chemotherapy regimen and paclitaxel pharmacokinetics), and patient characteristics (i.e. age, sex, disease state, liver and renal function) best predict neurologic and haematological toxicities, and tumour response. Simulations, applying the developed models, will be performed to assess different dosing scenarios and divergent patient characteristics (i.e. age, sex, disease state, liver and renal function) to provide a broader understanding of the relationship between treatment and outcomes of treatment. The results should help towards identifying a dosing strategy that reduces the incidence and/or severity of clinically relevant toxicities, and retains efficacy of treatment.

Biochemiker Francis Williams Ojara

Francis Ojara

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse Kelchstr. 31
Raum 138A
12169 Berlin
Telefon 030-838 50620
E-Mail francis.ojara[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum vitae

 

 

Seit 06/2016 Doktorand (Graduate Research Training Program “PharMetrX: Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modeling”) an der Freien Universität Berlin im AK Klinische Pharmazie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft
06/2014-09/2014 Zertifikatskurs “Principles of Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacometrics”: Die theoretischen Grundlagen wurden online vom Hibernia College (Dublin, Irland) angeboten, die praktischen Hands-on-Seminare von der Universität Addis Abeba(Addis Ababa, Äthiopien)
09/2012-10/2014 Masterstudium der Pharmakologie, Makerere Universität, Kampala, Uganda
Diplomarbeit: “Pharmacokinetics of cyclophosphamide in endemic Burkitt’s Lymphoma patients attending Uganda Cancer Institute”
08/2006-06/2009 Bachelorstudium der Biochemie, Makerere Universität, Kampala, Uganda
03/2004-11/2005

Uganda Advanced Certificate of Education am St. Joseph’s College, Layibi, Gulu, Uganda

Forschungsschwerpunkte


Forschungslinie 2: Pharmakometrische Datenanalyse


Paclitaxel ist ein Arzneistoff, der in vielen Therapieregimen gegen solide Tumore eingesetzt wird. Tumorentitäten, wie Bronchial-, Mamma- und Ovarialkarzinome, die zu den häufigsten weltweit zählen, werden mit diesem Arzneistoff behandelt. Das nicht-kleinzellige Lungen- karzinom (NSCLC), eine Unterart des Bronchialkarzinoms, macht ca. 85 % aller Bronchial- karzinomerkrankungen aus. Zur Behandlung von NSCLC wird Paclitaxel mit Platin-basierten Arzneistoffen kombiniert (Carboplatin oder Cisplatin).

Für die Pharmakokinetik (PK) von Paclitaxel wurde eine hohe Variabilität beobachtet, ebenso ist eine Korrelation zwischen PK und Therapieerfolg bekannt. Neutropenie ist die dosis- limitierende Toxizität der Therapie mit Paclitaxel und Dosisanpassungen, basierend auf dem Schweregrad der Neutropenie, wurden bereits empfohlen. Neben der Neutropenie werden weitere klinisch relevante unerwünschte Arzneimittelwirkungen, wie z.B. Neurotoxizität, beobachtet und zur Dosisanpassung genutzt.

Die Balance zwischen Wirksamkeit der Therapie und tolerierbarer Toxizität zu treffen, ist die größte Herausforderung in der Chemotherapie, insbesondere für Patienten im fortgeschrittenen Krankheitsstadium mit schlechter Prognose. Um diese Balance zu erreichen, ist es wichtig, die Inzidenz und die Einflussfaktoren für die aus der Therapie folgenden Toxizität und Wirk- samkeit zu ermitteln. Darauf aufbauend ist es dann möglich, Therapieänderungen basierend auf diesen Einflussfaktoren (z.B. therapiebezogene und patientenbezogene Faktoren) vorzunehmen, um die erwünschten Therapieziele zu erreichen.

Mein Promotionsprojekt beinhaltet die Entwicklung und Anwendung von mathematischen, pharmakometrischen Modellen auf Grundlage einer vorausgegangenen klinischen Dosis- individualisierungsstudie. Das Ziel dieser Arbeit ist die Untersuchung therapiebezogener Charakteristika (z.B. Therapieregime, PK von Paclitaxel), und patientenbezogener Charakte- ristika (z.B. Alter, Geschlecht, Krankheitszustand, Leber- und Nierenfunktion), die am besten die Neurotoxizität, hämatologische Toxizität und das Ansprechen des Tumors vorhersagen. Die entwickelten Modelle werden dann für Simulationen genutzt, um verschiedene Dosierungs- schemata in verschiedenen Patientenpopulationen zu untersuchen. Dadurch soll das Verständnis für den Zusammenhang zwischen Therapie und Therapieerfolg verbessert werden. Die Ergebnisse sollen dazu beitragen, Dosierungsstrategien zu identifizieren, die die Häufigkeit unerwünschter Arzneimittelwirkungen bei gleichzeitigem Therapieerfolg verringern.