Pharmacist Lena Klopp-Schulze

Lena Klopp-Schulze

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address Kelchstr. 31
Room 138A
12169 Berlin
Telephone 030 838 50620
Email lena.klopp-schulze[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum vitae

 
 

since 05/2014

PhD student at the Freie Universität Berlin, Dept. of Clincal Pharmacy and Biochemistry under supervision of Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft & Participant in the Graduate Research Training Program PharMetrX

01/2013-04/2014 Pharmacist at the community pharmacy Stern Apotheke, Heidelberg
12/2013 License to practice pharmacy (Approbation)
05/2013-11/2013 Intership at the community pharmacy Stern Apotheke, Heidelberg (Pre-registration year)
10/2012-04/2013 Internship at the Dept. of Pharmaceutics under the supervision of Prof. Derendorf, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA (Pre-registration year)
02-05/2011 ERASMUS-Placement internship at the Dept. of CLINTEC at the Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden
03/2010 Internship at the Hospital pharmacy at the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf
09/2009 Intership at the community pharmacy Nicolai Apotheke, Eckernförde
09/2008-10/2012 Studies of Pharmacy at the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
07/2007 A-levels (Abitur) at the Peter-Ustinov-School, Eckernförde

Focus of research


[Forschungslinie 2]: Pharmacometric data analysis

 

“Population pharmacogenetic/pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic modelling of tamoxifen therapy in breast cancer”

Tamoxifen is a widely used drug for the prevention and treatment of oestrogenreceptor (ER)-positive breast cancer. As a selective ER-modulator (SERM) tamoxifen acts as anti-oestrogen on tumour growth in breast tissue. It is considered as pro-drug which is metabolised by cytochrome P450 (CYP) enzymes to more active metabolites, among which, endoxifen is considered the most abundant and active metabolite. CYP2D6 and CYP3A4/5 are the major enzymes involved in endoxifen formation. The high polymorphic nature of CYP2D6 in humans has an impact on the extent of bioactivation of tamoxifen to endoxifen. Different studies have demonstrated the relationship of CYP2D6 phenotypes with lower endoxifen concentrations or investigated the relation to clinical outcome. However, contradictory results have been found and yet only limited quantitative knowledge on the clinical impact of CYP2D6 polymorphism and drug-drug interactions on tamoxifen pharmacokinetics is available.

 

The aim of my PhD project is to develop an integrated pharmacogenetic (PGx)/pharmaco- kinetic (PK)/pharmacodynamic (PD) model to quantitatively characterise the temporal profiles of tamoxifen and endoxifen. In addition, the impact of genetic variability on the formation of endoxifen will be assessed. As a second step, the relationship between endoxifen plasma concentrations and treatment response and clinical benefit from tamoxifen therapy will be evaluated and mathematically characterised. The final goal is to be able to exploit the full in silico model by simulations to optimise individual tamoxifen therapy.

Apothekerin Lena Klopp-Schulze

Lena Klopp-Schulze

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse Kelchstr. 31
Raum 138A
12169 Berlin
Telefon 030-838 50620
E-Mail lena.klopp-schulze[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum vitae

 
 

Seit 05/2014 Doktorandin im Arbeitskreis Klinische Pharmazie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft
01/2013-04/2014 Apothekerin in der Stern Apotheke, Heidelberg
12/2013 Approbation als Apothekerin
05/2013-11/2013 Pharmazeutin im Praktikum in der Stern Apotheke, Heidelberg
10/2012-04/2013 Pharmazeutin im Praktikum am Department of Pharmaceutics unter der Leitung von Prof. Derendorf, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA
02-05/2011 ERASMUS-Praktikum am Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Schweden
03/2010 Famulatur in der Krankenhausapotheke des Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf
09/2009 Famulatur in der Nicolai Apotheke, Eckernförde
09/2008-10/2012 Pharmaziestudium an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
07/2007 Abitur an der Peter-Ustinov-Schule, Eckernförde

Forschungsschwerpunkte

 

„Populationspharmakogentische/-pharmakokinetische/-pharmakodynamische Modellierung von Tamoxifen in der Brustkrebstherapie“

Tamoxifen wird als Standardtherapie seit vielen Jahren zur adjuvanten und palliativen Behandlung, sowie zur Prävention von Östrogenrezeptor (ER)-positiven Mammakarzinomen eingesetzt. Als selektiver ER-Modulator (SERM) greift Tamoxifen mit anti-östrogener Wirkung zielgerichtet in das Tumorwachstum im Brustgewebe ein. Tamoxifen unterliegt einem komplexen hepatischen Metabolismus, bei dem die Cytochrom-P450-Enzyme CYP2D6 und CYP3A4/5 eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Es werden klinische aktive Metabolite gebildet, von denen Endoxifen als am relevantesten angesehen wird. Da diese Metabolite eine deutlich höhere Aktivität am ER zeigen als Tamoxifen selbst, wird Tamoxifen auch als Prodrug bezeichnet. Für das an der Bioaktivierung beteiligte Enzym CYP2D6 sind viele verschiedene genetische Polymorphismen bekannt. Zahlreiche Polymorphismen führen zu Defiziten in der Enzymaktivität und Beeinflussen die Bildung von Endoxifen. Unabhängige Studien haben den Zusammenhang zwischen CYP2D6-Phenotyp und Endoxifen-Plasmakonzentrationen sowie klinischem Ansprechen untersucht. Die Ergebnisse sind jedoch widersprüchlich und die Bedeutung von CYP2D6 für das Therapieansprechen ist umstritten.

Das Ziel meiner Doktorarbeit ist, ein pharmakogenetisches (PGx)/pharmakokinetisches (PK)/pharmakodynamisches (PD) Model zu entwickeln, um zeitabhängige Konzentrations- und Wirkungsprofile von Tamoxifen und den aktiven Metaboliten mathematisch zu beschreiben. Außerdem soll die Auswirkung genetischer Variabilität auf die Bildung von Endoxifen untersucht werden. Im zweiten Schritt wird der Zusammenhang zwischen Endoxifen-Plasmakonzentrationen und dem therapeutischen Ansprechen, das Ergebnis der Tamoxifen-Therapie, mathematisch analysiert und beurteilt.

Schlussendlich ist es das Ziel, das entwickelte In-silico-Model zu nutzen und gestützt auf Simulationen die Tamoxifen-Therapie zu optimieren und dadurch eine erfolgreiche, individuelle Behandlung des Patienten zu ermöglichen.