Pharmacist and Diploma-Pharmacist Eva Göbgen

Eva Göbgen

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address Kelchstr. 31
Room 242
12169 Berlin
Telephone 030-838 50660
Email eva.goebgen[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae


since 10/2013

PhD student in the Clinical pharmacy research group headed by Prof. Dr. Charlotte Koft

07/2013

Registration as pharmacist

11/2012 - 04/2013

pharmaceutical intern at „Apotheke am Hochmeisterplatz“, Berlin

04/2012 - 09/2012

Diploma student in the Clinical Pharmacy Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft

02/2009 - 03/2009

clinical elective at „Rathaus Apotheke“, Neunkirchen

03/2008

clinical elective at „Rathaus Apotheke“, Neunkirchen

10/2007 - 03/2012

Studies of Pharmacy, Freie Universität Berlin

05/2007

A-levels (Abitur) at Siegtal-Gymnasium Eitorf

Focus of research


[Forschungslinie 1]: Bioanalytics & Microdialysis and Cellculture

The discovery of penicillin by Fleming in 1928 led to the development of antibiotics and represents one of the remarkable achievements in the field of pharmaceutics. Antibiotics allow a potent treatment in the fight against severe infectious diseases such as endocarditis or pneumonia. As a result of their administration, it was possible that, according to the German Federal Statistical Office, the bacterial infections as cause of death in 2012 were far behind cancer and cardiovascular disease. Due to rare new approval of antibiotics and especially the increase in the resistance of bacteria responsible usage of existing antibiotics is becoming increasingly important. Therefore optimised dosing guidelines in the form of patient subgroup-adapted dosage regimens represent a time- and cost-saving method for the use of anti-infectives. In our Dept., the establishment of dosing regimens is based on the pharmacokinetic (PK) and pharmacodynamic (PD) relationships.

The basis of the PK/PD models primarily is either the minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) as a PK/PD parameter, or the generation of time-kill curves and PK/PD parameters derived from them. The MIC and time-kill curves are determined in vitro in the laboratory. The determination is performed experimentally by in vitro infection models. This determination requires the quantification of bacteria, which is the most time-consuming step in the determination of the respective PK/PD parameter.

My project deals with in vitro determination of MIC and time-kill curves. The determination is performed experimentally with in vitro infection models, which enable a systematic investigation of antibiotic PD for infections caused by bacteria. Taking PK data (drug concentration-time profiles) obtained in clinical trials into account, various scenarios can be mimicked experimentally in vitro, and thereby with the help of PK/PD models recommendations for dosage regimens for the therapeutic practice can be derived. In order to optimise the determination of the parameters, a time- and cost-saving method for the quantification of pathophysiological relevant bacterial species such as Escherichia coli should be developed. This method should be established on the basis of international guidelines such as the EMA guideline for 'Bioanalytical method validation' (2012).

Apothekerin und Diplom-Pharmazeutin Eva Göbgen

Eva Göbgen

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse Kelchstr. 31
Raum 216
12169 Berlin
Telefon 030-838 50659
E-Mail eva.goebgen[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae


Seit 10/2013

Doktorandin im AK Klinische Pharmazie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte
Kloft

07/2013

Approbation als Apothekerin

11/2012 - 04/2013

Pharmazeutin im Praktikum "Apotheke am Hochmeisterplatz", Berlin

04/2012 - 09/2012

Diplomandin im AK Klinische Pharmazie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte
Kloft

02/2009 - 03/2009

Famulatur in der "Rathaus Apotheke", Neunkirchen

03/2008

Famulatur in der "Rathaus Apotheke", Neunkirchen

10/2007 - 03/2012

Studium der Pharmazie, Freie Universität Berlin

05/2007

Abitur am Siegtal-Gymnasium Eitorf

Forschungsschwerpunkte


Forschungslinie 1: Bioanalytik & Mikrodialyse und Zellkultur

Die Entdeckung von Penicillin 1928 durch Fleming führte zur Entwicklung der Antibiotika und stellt eine der größten Errungenschaften in der Pharmazie dar. Die Antibiotika ermöglichen eine wirkungsvolle Behandlung in der Bekämpfung schwerwiegender Infektionskrankheiten wie der Endokarditis oder der Pneumonie. Durch ihren Einsatz war es möglich, dass bakterielle Infektionen als Todesursache laut Statistischem Bundesamt in 2012 weit hinter Krebs- und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen zurückgefallen sind. Durch wenige Neuzulassungen von Antibiotika und v.a. die Zunahme von Resistenzen in Bakterien wird der verantwortungsvolle Umgang mit den vorhandenen Antibiotika immer wichtiger. Optimierte Dosierungsrichtlinien in Form von Patientengruppen-adaptierten Dosierungsschemata stellen daher eine zeit- und kostensparende Methode zum Einsatz von Antiinfektiva dar. Die Entwicklung der Dosierungsschemata erfolgt in unserer Abt. auf Basis der pharmakokinetischen (PK) und pharmakodynamischen (PD) Zusammenhänge.

Die Grundlage der PK/PD-Modelle sind vorrangig entweder die Minimale Hemmkonzentration (MHK) als PK/PD-Parameter oder die Erstellung von Abtötungskurven und daraus abgeleiteter PK/PD-Parameter. Die MHK sowie die Abtötungskurven werden in vitro im Labor bestimmt. Die Bestimmung erfolgt experimentell mit In-vitro-Infektionsmodellen. Diese Bestimmung erfordert die Quantifizierung von Bakterien, welche den zeitintensivsten Schritt in der Bestimmung dieser Parameter darstellt.

Mein Projekt beschäftigt sich mit der In-vitro-Bestimmung der MHK und der Abtötungskurven. Diese erfolgt experimentell mit In-vitro-Infektionsmodellen, durch die eine systematische Untersuchung der PD von Antibiotika bei bakteriellen Infektionen ermöglicht wird. Unter Einbeziehung von PK-Daten (Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofile), die in klinischen Studien gewonnen wurden, können verschiedene Szenarien in vitro experimentell nachgestellt und dadurch mit Hilfe von PK/PD-Modellen Empfehlungen für Dosierungsschemata für die therapeutische Praxis erarbeitet werden. Um die Parameterbestimmung zu optimieren, soll außerdem eine zeit- und kostensparende Methode zur Quantifizierung von pathologisch relevanten Bakterienspezies wie Escherichia coli entwickelt werden. Diese Methode soll auf Grundlage internationaler Richtlinien wie der EMA-Richtlinie für die 'Validierung bioanalytischer Methoden' (2012) etabliert werden.