Pharmacist Lisa Ehmann

Lisa Ehmann

Institute of Pharmacy

Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry

Freie Universität Berlin

Address Kelchstr. 31
Room 130A
12169 Berlin
Telephone 030-838 50662
Email lisa.ehmann[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae


Since 03/2015

PhD student (Graduate Research Training Progam PharMetrX, Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling) at the Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy and Biochemistry supervised by Frau Prof Dr. Charlotte Kloft

02/2015

Research Internship, Abbvie Deutschland GmbH, Pharmacometrics, Ludwigshafen

12/2014

Registered as Pharmacist

05/2014-10/2014

Pharmacist in pre-registration year, Merck KGaA, Pharmaceutical formulation development of proteins, Darmstadt

11/2013-04/2014

Pharmacist in pre-registration year, Friedrichstadt Apotheke (public pharmacy), Berlin

02/2012-03/2012

Internship, University Hospital Cooperation Unit Clinical Pharmacy, Heidelberg

2009-2013

Studies of Pharmacy at Ruprecht-Karls-Universität, Heidelberg

06/2009

A level (Abitur) Werner-Heisenberg-Gymnasium, Weinheim

Focus of research

 

[Forschungslinie 2]: Pharmacometric data analysis

Nonlinear mixed-effects modelling of selected antibiotics in special patient populations – with a focus on target-site pharmacokinetics
 

During the last decades, less new antibiotic drugs have been developed and bacterial resistance and antibiotic withdrawal have increased. Therefore, it is important to use existing antibiotics as scientifically rational as possible. Apart from the appropriate choice of antibiotics - potentially as drug combinations - based on their spectrum of activity, the achievement of effective drug concentration-time profiles at the target site (=site of infection) is an important factor in antibiotic therapy. The profiles required are dependent on the type of an antibiotic – e.g. for beta-lactam antibiotics, the antimicrobial activity is linked to the time above the minimal inhibitory concentration – but also on the susceptibility of the bacteria – e.g. for intermediate and resistant bacteria higher drug concentrations are needed than for susceptible bacteria. In special patient populations (e.g. critically ill patients, obese patients or neonates) the rational use of antibiotics is most important; however there is a lack of knowledge about the achieved drug concentration-time profiles. As the pharmacokinetics is altered in those patients, the profiles might differ, potentially requiring dose adjustments in those patients.

For most antibiotics, the target site is extravascular in the interstitial space fluid of a tissue or in other body fluids than blood, since the majority of bacterial infections occur there. Today, the method of choice to measure drug concentrations over time directly at the target site is microdialysis, a minimally invasive sampling technique used for the continuous measurement of unbound, active drug concentrations in e.g. the interstitial space fluid.

 

My PhD project deals with the analysis of pharmacokinetic (PK) data (plasma/serum and microdialysis drug concentration data) and pharmacodynamic (PD) data (e.g. disease scores, inflammation marker, mortality rate) from clinical trials in special patient populations using the nonlinear mixed-effects modelling approach. Based on the clinical PK data mathematical PK models will be developed which shall describe the drug concentration-time profiles in the populations as well as the variability between and within patients. Additionally, a covariate analysis will be performed to identify patients factors (e.g. demographics and pathophysiologic characteristics) explaining the PK variability in the populations. Those PK models shall then be linked to the outcome (PD data) in the patients. Ultimately, the models shall be used to verify or optimise current antibiotic dosing regimens in special patient populations with respect to effective drug concentration-time profiles in plasma/serum or at target site to finally improve therapeutic success and reduce risk of under/overdosing and bacterial resistance development.

Apothekerin Lisa Ehmann

Lisa Ehmann

Institut für Pharmazie

Klinische Pharmazie & Biochemie

Freie Universität Berlin

Adresse Kelchstr. 31
Raum 130A
12169 Berlin
Telefon 030-838 50662
E-Mail lisa.ehmann[at]fu-berlin.de

Curriculum Vitae


Seit 03/2015

Doktorandin (Graduate Research Training Program „PharMetrX“, Pharmacometrics & Computational Disease Modelling) im AK Klinische Pharmazie von Frau Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft

02/2015

Praktikum bei AbbVie Deutschland GmbH in der Abteilung Pharmacometrics, Ludwigshafen

12/2014

Approbation als Apothekerin

05/2014-10/2014

Zweite Hälfte des praktischen Jahres für Pharmazeuten bei Merck KGaA in der Abteilung Formulierungsentwicklung von Proteinwirkstoffen, Darmstadt

11/2013-04/2014

Erste Hälfte des praktischen Jahres für Pharmazeuten in der Friedrichstadt Apotheke, Berlin

02/2012-03/2012

Praktikum in der Kooperationseinheit Klinische Pharmazie des Universitätsklinikums Heidelberg

2009-2013

Studium der Pharmazie, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität, Heidelberg

06/2009

Abitur am Werner-Heisenberg-Gymnasium, Weinheim

Forschungsschwerpunkte

 

Forschungslinie 2: Pharmakometrische Datenanalyse
 

’Nonlinear mixed-effects‘ Modellierung von ausgewählten Antibiotika in speziellen Patientenpopulationen – mit einem Fokus auf Wirkort-Pharmakokinetik.

 

In den letzten Jahrzehnten ist die Anzahl der neu entwickelten Antibiotika gesunken, während die bakteriellen Resistenzen und die Marktrücknahme von Antibiotika gestiegen sind. Daher ist es wichtig, die noch vorhandenen Antibiotika auf wissenschaftlich rationaler Basis so sinnvoll wie möglich einzusetzen. Neben der geeigneten Wahl der Antibiotika – potenziell als Arzneistoffkombinationen – basierend auf ihrem Wirkspektrum, stellt auch das Erreichen von effektiven Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofilen am Wirkort (=Infektionsort) einen wichtigen Faktor in der Antibiotikatherapie dar. Die benötigten Profile hängen von der Art des Antibiotikums ab – z.B. steht die antimikrobielle Aktivität von Betalaktam-Antibiotika im Zusammenhang mit der Zeit oberhalb der Minimalen Hemmkonzentration – aber auch von der Empfindlichkeit der Bakterien – z.B. werden für intermediäre oder resistente Bakterien höhere Arzneistoff-Konzentrationen als für empfindliche Bakterien benötigt. In speziellen Patientenpopulationen (z.B. kritisch kranken Patienten, fettleibigen Patienten oder Neugeborenen) ist der Einsatz von Antibiotika auf wissenschaftlich rationaler Basis besonders wichtig; allerdings existiert kaum Wissen bezüglich der erreichten Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofile. Da die Pharmakokinetik in diesen Patienten verändert ist unterscheiden sich die Profile, was potenziell einer Dosisanpassung in diesen Patienten bedarf.

Für die meisten Antibiotika, befindet sich der Wirkort extrazellulär in der Interstitialflüssigkeit des Gewebes oder in anderen Körperflüssigkeiten außerhalb des Blutes, da dort Mehrzahl der bakteriellen Infektionen auftreten. Die Methode der Wahl, die heutzutage für die Messung von Arzneistoffkonzentrationen direkt am Wirkort verwendet wird, ist die Mikrodialyse, eine minimal invasive Probenahmetechnik, die für die kontinuierliche Messung von ungebundenen aktiven Arzneistoffkonzentrationen z.B. in der Interstitialflüssigkeit verwendet wird.

 

Mein Projekt beschäftigt sich mit der Analyse von pharmakokinetischen (PK) Daten (Plasma/Serum- und Mikrodialyse-Arzneistoffkonzentrationsdaten) und pharmakodynamischen (PD) Daten (z.B. Krankheitsscores, Entzündungsmarker, Mortalitätsraten) aus klinischen Studien in speziellen Patientenpopulationen mithilfe des sogenannten ’Nonlinear mixed-effects modelling‘-Ansatzes. Basierend auf klinischen PK Daten werden mathematische PK-Modelle entwickelt, welche die Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofile in den Populationen sowie die Variabilität zwischen als auch innerhalb der Patienten beschreiben sollen. Zusätzlich wird eine Covariatenanalyse durchgeführt, um patientenspezifische Faktoren (z.B. Demografie und pathophysiologische Charakteristika) zu identifizieren, welche die Variabilität innerhalb der Populationen erklären. Diese PK-Modelle sollen dann mit klinischen Ansprechdaten (PD-Daten) verknüpft werden. Schließlich sollen die entwickelten Modelle verwendet werden, um gegenwärtig eingesetzte Dosierungsschemata für Antibiotika in speziellen Patientenpopulationen hinsichtlich effektiver Arzneistoffkonzentrations-Zeitprofile im Plasma/Serum oder am Wirkort zu verifizieren oder zu optimieren, und um letztendlich den Therapieerfolg zu verbessern und das Risiko für Unter-/Überdosierung sowie bakterielle Resistenzentwicklung zu reduzieren.