Research

 

Our Research Mission

is to be recognised as an interdisciplinary research team
applying high scientific standards and innovative methodologies

advancing mechanistic understanding of drug-system relation
in a quantitative, integrated experimental / in silico approach

to ultimately foster rational use of medicines
while empowering young scientists to
perform clinically relevant research

 

The focus of our research lies in the optimisation of drug therapy for patient populations with high unmet medical and societal need, so called “vulnerable populations”, e.g. patients with cancer, intensive care patients, paediatric, pregnant or adipose patients. Our research aims to quantitatively and over time characterise the complex interactions between patient and drug by means of (patho-)physiology- and mechanism-based models and to use these to derive new concepts and recommendations of therapy.

Our research area, pharmacometrics & systems biology, is transdisciplinary and combines

- experimental concepts (Research pillar 1): Bioanalysis/microdialysis and in vitro systems/cell culture and

- theoretical concepts (Research pillar 2): Pharmacometric data analysis

Thereby, in vivo (clinical, partly preclinical), ex vivo and in vitro and in silico approaches are applied.

Based on our previous results, comprising mainly the development of empiric pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic models for drugs, we increasingly focus on mechanistic, i.e. physiology-motivated and mechanism-based models, integrating knowledge of cellular and molecular kinetics and dynamics to a larger extent. The spectrum of investigated medicines covers innovative monoclonal antibodies and paediatric formulations of glucocorticoides as well as licenced antiinfectives or cytostatics.

Research pillar 1: Bioanalytics & microdialysis and cell culture

In bioanalysis, the focus is on the development of valid methods to determine traces of concentrations of drugs and their metabolites or biomarkers in complex biological matrices (blood, plasma, ultrafiltrate, skin, interstitial fluid, bone, etc.). To analyse these samples qualitatively and quantitatively we employ classical HPLC bioanalytics and high-resolution LC-MS/MS systems (s. PharmaMS; http://www.bcp.fu-berlin.de/pharmazie/service_verwaltung/PharmaMS/index.html).

Particularly the understanding of the spectrum of metabolites and their contribution to therapeutical success or failure is gaining more and more importance. We have already generated various hypotheses for cytostatic and antiinfective drugs or drugs in development to enhance the mechanistic understanding of the effects of parent compounds and metabolites.
  

By using microdialysis, a minimally invasive technique, we accomplished the step from determination of drugs in blood to their site of action. The bioanalytical challenge is to reliably measure traces of concentrations of drugs, metabolites or biomarkers in small sample volumes (few nano- or microliters) over time. Not yet described in literature, we were able to establish this technique in long-term studies in humans. Additionally, we characterised the microdialysis technique extensively in vitro. By now, microdialysis is used in vivo in preclinical and clinical studies in healthy and even critically ill patients. Furthermore, we have started to evaluate various approaches to determine the pathophysiological status at the site of action: valid methods for markers (i.e. inflammatory status) are developed to differentiate between healthy and diseased state as well as disease progression and the therapeutic benefit.
 

In in vitro systems, we focus on the investigation of mechanisms and establishment of effect parameters to characterise drug effects: these in vitro systems allow an extensive and systematic investigation of mode of actions in cell culture and the identification of in vitro markers predictive of the therapeutic outcome. For instance, valid parameters determining the drug effect of antiinfective and anti-tumour drugs can be generated. Here, concentration-time profiles of drugs, either determined by using microdialysis at the site of action or predicted by pharmacometric models, can be mimicked in vitro. Based on the time-varying drug concentrations, antiinfective effects and potential emergence of resistance over time can be determined, forming the basis to develop semimechanistic pharmacometric models to predict the therapeutic outcome of a patient. Moreover, antimicrobial combination therapies and their beneficial use for the treatment of infections caused by drug resistant bacteria are investigated in trans-European consortia.

 

Research pillar 2: Pharmacometrical data analysis

Experimental or clinical data obtained by Research pillar 1 or through collaborations in clinical studies form the basis for the development of new, predictive pharmacometric models. These integrate additionally relevant physiological, pathophysiological, anatomical and systems biology features of an organism. Microdialysis data measured in interstitial fluid and obtained from various clinical trials are particularly appropriate to consider systems-related processes in these models and gives us the opportunity to directly assess the target site pharmacokinetics of antiinfective drugs. Additionally, by analysis of patient-specific characteristics, so-called covariates, as factors influential on the organism or drug therapy, we aim to enhance the understanding of a disease and its progression as well as cure and its progression (under drug therapy) and to consequently individualise drug treatment.

The modelling and simulation activities applied in various projects partly realised by third-party funding are sophisticated and computationally-intensive and are thus realised by means of “high performance computing” on a Linux cluster (s. Soroban; www.zedat.fu-berlin.de/HPC/EN/Soroban).

In the fields of antiinfective and tumour therapy we have already generated new knowledge regarding interactions of drugs and the organ, e.g. on the interaction between monoclonal antibodies with anti-antibodies. Furthermore, we investigate the impact of genetic variability (e.g. CYP polymorphisms) on pharmacokinetic processes, identify patients with risk of therapy failure and derive individual dosing adaptations based the respective genotype and phenotype. Similarly, we also develop models characterising the dose-limiting toxicity of classical cytostatic drugs, e.g. long-term myelosuppression and peripheral neuropathy. These model-based approaches are useful to predict treatment progress and to give recommendations for more rational dosing regimens for individual patients or patient subgroups.

In many research projects we are collaborating with scientists in larger consortia at national and international level, e.g.

  • ABIMMUNE (part of Joint Programming Initiative of antimicrobial Resistance (JPIAMR, www.jpiamr.eu) and funded by Bundesministerium für Forschung und Bildung (BMBF): Combination of research pillars 1 and 2
  • COMBINATORIALS (part of JPIAMR (www.jpiamr.eu) and funded by BMBF: s. research pillar 2
  • PharMetrX (s. www.PharMetrx.de): s. research pillar 2
  • DDMoRe (s. www.ddmore.eu, 2011-2016), funded by Innovative Medicines Initiative (IMI-JU): s. research pillar 2

Forschung


Our Research Mission

is to be recognised as an interdisciplinary research team
applying high scientific standards and innovative methodologies

advancing mechanistic understanding of drug-system relation
in a quantitative, integrated experimental / in silico approach

to ultimately foster rational use of medicines
while empowering young scientists to
perform clinically relevant research

 

Der Schwerpunkt unseres Forschungsinteresses liegt in der Optimierung der Arzneimittel- therapie für Patientengruppen, bei denen ein hoher medizinischer und gesellschaftlicher Bedarf besteht, u.a. für an Krebs erkrankten, intensivpflichtigen, pädiatrischen, schwangeren oder adipösen Patienten, so genannten „vulnerablen Populationen“. Ziel unserer Forschung ist, die komplexen Wechselwirkungen zwischen Patient und Arzneimittel mittels (Patho-)Physiologie- und Mechanismus-basierten Modellen quantitativ und im zeitlichen Verlauf eingehend zu charakterisieren und für zukünftige Therapiekonzepte und -empfehlungen zu nutzen.

Unser Forschungsgebiet, die Systembiologische Pharmakometrie, ist transdisziplinär angelegt und verknüpft dabei

  • experimentelle Konzepte (Forschungslinie 1): Bioanalytik/Mikrodialyse und In-vitro-Systeme/Zellkultur und
  • theoretische Konzepte (Forschungslinie 2): Pharmakometrische Datenanalyse

Wir stützen uns dabei hauptsächlich auf In-vivo (klinische, zuweilen präklinische), Ex-vivo und In-vitro und In-silico-Ansätze.

Ausgehend von unseren bisherigen Forschungsarbeiten, der Entwicklung zumeist empirischer Pharmakokinetik- und Pharmakodynamik-Modelle für Arzneistoffe, fokussieren wir zunehmend mechanistische, d.h. Physiologie-motivierte und Mechanismus-basierte Modelle, in die verstärkt Erkenntnisse zellulärer und molekularer Kinetik und Dynamik integriert werden. Das Spektrum der untersuchten Arzneistoffe reicht dabei von innovativen monoklonalen Antikörpern und innovativen Glucocorticoidformulierungen für Kinder bis hin zu zugelassenen Antiinfektiva oder Zytostatika.


Forschungslinie 1: Bioanalytik & Mikrodialyse und Zellkultur

In der Bioanalytik liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Entwicklung valider Methoden, mit denen Spuren von Konzentrationen von Arzneistoffen und ihren Metaboliten oder Biomarkern aus komplexen biologischen Matrices (Vollbut, Plasma, Ultrafiltrat, Haut, Interstitialflüssigkeit, Knochen etc.) bestimmt werden. Zur qualitativen und quantitativen Analyse dieser Proben nutzen wir neben klassischer HPLC-Bioanalytik ebenfalls hochauflösende LC-MS/MS-Analytik (s. PharmaMS; http://www.bcp.fu-berlin.de/pharmazie/service_verwaltung/PharmaMS/index.html).

Gerade das Verständnis zum Metabolitenspektrum und deren Beitrag zum Therapie-(Miss)erfolg werden immer bedeutsamer. Für eine Reihe von Entwicklungssubstanzen, Zytostatika und Antiinfektiva haben wir bereits Hypothesen generiert, die in künftigen bioanalytischen Projekten direkt am Patienten den Beitrag zum mechanistischen Verständnis der Arzneistoff-Metabolitenwirkung klären sollen.

Mit der Mikrodialyse, einer minimal invasiven Technik, haben wir den Schritt von der Analyse im Blut hin zum Wirkort vollzogen. Die bioanalytische Herausforderung besteht hier, in wenigen Nano- bzw. Mikrolitern Arzneistoff-/Metaboliten-Konzentrationen über die Zeit valide zu erfassen. Bisher kaum in der Literatur beschrieben, ist es uns gelungen, diese Technik in Langzeit-Anwendung im Menschen zu etablieren. Des Weiteren ist diese Technologie im Arbeitskreis umfassend in vitro charakterisiert worden. Sie wird nun in vivo in präklinischen und klinischen Studien bei gesunden Probanden und mittlerweile sogar bei Intensivpatienten erfolgreich eingesetzt. Darüber hinaus haben wir erste Ansätze zur Bestimmung des pathophysiologischen ‚Lokalmilieus‘ am Wirkort gestartet: Hier erarbeiten wir valide Methoden für Marker (z.B. Entzündungsstatus), die zwischen Gesunden, Krankheitsstadium und -fortschreiten differenzieren sowie den Therapiefortschritt beschreiben.

In In-vitro-Systemen/Zellkultur haben wir uns auf die Untersuchung von Mechanismen und Etablierung von Effektparametern zur Charakterisierung der Arzneistoffwirkung fokussiert: Diese In-vitro-Systeme erlauben umfangreiche systematische Untersuchungen von Wirkungsmechanismen außerhalb des Patienten und die Suche nach für den Therapie-Outcome prädiktiven In-vitro-Markern. Dabei werden valide Parameter zur Bestimmung des Arzneistoffeffekts von Antiinfektiva und Antitumormittel entwickelt. Hierfür werden zum einen durch Mikrodialyse am Wirkort gewonnene Konzentrations-Zeitprofile und zum anderen durch pharmakometrische Modelle vorhergesagte Konzentrations-Zeitprofile von Arzneistoffen in vitro nachgestellt. Mittels dieser über die Zeit veränderlichen Arzneistoffkonzentrationen kann z.B. der antiinfektive Effekt und mögliche Resistenzentwicklungen über die Zeit bestimmt und als Basis für die Entwicklung semimechanistischer Pharmakometrie-Modelle zur Vorhersage des Therapieergebnisses im Patienten genutzt werden. Zudem werden europaweiten Forschungsverbünden antimikrobielle Kombinationstherapien und deren Beitrag zur Behandlung von Infektionen durch resistente Erreger untersucht.


Forschungslinie 2: Pharmakometrische Datenanalyse

Die in Forschungslinie 1 oder in Kooperation aus Studien gewonnenen experimentellen oder klinischen Daten zu Arznei­stoffen/Metaboliten und Krankheitsmarkern etc. fließen in die Entwicklung neuartiger prädiktiver Pharmakometrie-Modelle. Diese integrieren zusätzlich relevante physiologische, pathophysiologische, anatomische und systembiologische Eigenschaften des Organismus. Gerade Mikrodialyse­daten aus Interstitialflüssigkeit eignen sich hervorragend, systembezogene Prozesse in diese Modelle einzubeziehen. Die Auswertung dieser aus verschiedenen Studien gewonnenen Mikrodialysedaten ermöglicht es uns, z.B. Erkenntnisse zur Pharmakokinetik von verschiedenen Antiinfektiva am Wirkort zu erzielen. Durch Analyse von patienten-spezifischen Eigenschaften, sog. Covariaten, als Einfluss­faktoren auf den Organismus bzw. die Arzneimitteltherapie setzen wir uns als Ziel, den Krankheits- und Heilungsverlauf (unter Arznei­mittel­therapie) besser zu verstehen und dadurch die Behandlung individueller zu gestalten.

Diese u.a. im Rahmen von vielfältigen Drittmittelprojekten durchgeführten Datenmodellierungs- und -simulationsaktivitäten sind sehr anspruchsvoll und rechenintensiv und werden daher großteils mit Hilfe von „High-Performance-Computing“ auf einem Linux-Cluster (s. Soroban; www.zedat.fu-berlin.de/HPC/EN/Soroban) realisiert.

Im Bereich der Antiinfektiva- und Tumortherapie haben wir bereits neue Erkenntnisse zur Interaktion von Arzneistoffen und Organismus, z.B. von monoklonalen Antikörpern mit Anti-Antikörpern, erarbeitet. Zum anderen untersuchen wir die Auswirkung genetischer Variabilität (z.B. CYP-Polymorphismen) auf pharmakokinetische Prozesse, identifizieren Patienten mit Risiko eines Therapieversagens und erarbeiten individuelle, auf den Geno- bzw. Phänotyp zugeschnittene Dosierungsanpassungen. Analog entwickeln wir Modelle zur dosislimitierenden Toxizität klassischer Zytostatika, der Langzeit-Myelosuppression und peripheren Neuropathie. Diese Modell-basierten Ansätze sind sehr nützlich, um Vorhersagen zum Therapieverlauf zu treffen und daraus Empfehlungen zu rationaleren Dosierungsschemata für den einzelnen Patienten bzw. Patientensubgruppen abzuleiten.
 

In vielen Forschungsprojekten arbeiten wir mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern in größeren Konsortien auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene, z.B.

  • ABIMMUNE (Teil der Joint Programming Initiative of Antimicrobial Resistance (JPIAMR; www.jpiamr.eu) und gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Forschung und Bildung (BMBF): Kombination aus Forschungslinien 1 und 2
  • COMBINATORIALS (Teil der JPIAMR (www.jpiamr.eu) und gefördert durch das BMBF: s. Forschungslinie 2
  • PharMetrX (s. www.PharMetrx.de)
  • DDMoRe (s. www.ddmore.eu, 2011-2016), gefördert i.R.d. Innovative Medicines Initiative (IMI-JU): s. Forschungslinie 2