Project goals

185277056
Source: istock/selimaksan

Netzworking

The plant boxes are intended to serve as a meeting place for the members of our department. Since the team consists of a mixed group of people, the team members come together in a relaxed atmosphere and can exchange experience with members of the institute, enabling them to build up a supportive network both in the private and in the professional context.

Mentoring

In addition, each team member is given the opportunity to get in touch with people at different career levels. For example, the doctoral student can function as a mentor for bachelor's and master's students, and at the same time he can be the mentee of a  professor. This gives the doctoral student the chance to receive valuable tips for future career steps.

Soft Skill training

As is known from other urban gardening projects, joint gardening strengthens the social competency and the communication skills of the team members. It also promotes skills in project management and time management, as the team has to plan how to take care of the beds.

Health promotion

In addition to the beneficial effects on the soft skills, the planters boxes are also intended to help members of the faculty to come to rest in very stressful situations and to take a break. This will have a long-term positive effects on the health and  the performance of the faculty members.

Support of the sustainability

In particular gardening offers the team members who do not own a private garden a natural experience. In addition, the teams help to improve the air quality and transforms previously unattractive areas into small green oases with their plants. In order to support the sustainabilty, the plant boxes are filled with composted TerraBoga soil of the botanical garden in Dahlem.

Promotion of the exchange with the alumni network 

In addition to the current students and employees, former members of the departments are welcome to join the teams in order to to promote the establishment of a functioning and attractive alumni network for the exchange of experience and knowledge.

Projektziele

185277056
Bildquelle: istock.com/selimaksan

Netzwerkaufbau

Die Pflanzkisten sollen als Begegnungsstätte für die Fachbereichsangehörigen dienen. Da die Teams aus einer gemischten Personengruppe bestehen, kommen die Mitglieder in lockerer Atmosphäre in einen Austausch mit Institutsangehörigen unterschiedlicher Berufe. So könnten unkompliziert wertvolle Tipps fürs gemeinsame Arbeiten und zukünftige Karriereschritte ausgetauscht werden.

Mentoring

Grow Your Network bietet die Gelgenheit mit Personen auf verschiedenen Karrierestufen ins Gespräch zu kommen. Dabei kann zum Beispiel der Promovierende selbst als Mentor für Bachelor- und Masterstudierende fungieren und gleichzeitig kann er Mentee eines promovierten Wissenschaftlers oder einer promovierten Wissenschaftlerin sein. Damit erhält der Promovend die Möglichkeit zum einen den eigenen Karriereweg wertvolle Tipps für die zukünftigen Karriereschritte zu erhalten.

Förderung der Soft Skills

Wie von anderen Urban Gardening - Projekten bekannt ist, stärkt das gemeinsame Gärtnern die Sozialkompetenz und die Kommunikationsfähigkeiten der Teammitglieder. Auch fördert es die Projekt- und Zeitmanagementkompetenzen, da das Team für sich selber Pläne für die Bepflanzung und Pflege der Beete erstellt.

Gesundheitsförderung

Die Beete sollen auch einen persönlichen Nutzen für die Teilnehmer/innen haben. Sie sollen als Rückzugsort dienen und in sehr stressigen Situationen helfen zur Ruhe zu kommen. Ein Ort für eine Auszeit. Das wird sich langfristig positiv auf die Gesundheit auswirken und die Leistungsfähigkeit steigern.

Nachhaltigkeitsförderung

Das Gärtnern bietet insbesondere den Teammitgliedern ohne eigene private Grünfläche die Möglichkeit zum gärtnern. Auch verbessern die Teams durch das angepflanzte Grüne die Luftqualität und verwandeltn bisherige wenig einladene Flächen in kleine grüne Oasen. Um den Umweltgedanken zu fördern, werden die Pflanzkisten mit der kompostierten, nachhaltig geförderten TerraBoGa-Erde gefüllt.

Förderung des Austausches mit Alumni-/Alumnae

Neben den aktuellen Studierenden und Beschäftigten sind auch ehemalige Fachbereichsangehörige in den Teams herzlich willkommen! Dadurch soll der Aufbau eines funktionierenden und attraktiven Alumni-Netzwerkes und der Erfahrungsaustausch gefördert werden.