StreifenInstitut

Operating material waste

The expression "Betriebsmitelabfall" (= operating material waste) is used in German regulations. "Operating material waste" are all things and materials which are individally not hazardous, but have got contact with hazardous chemicals and are now hazardous waste. Examples:

  • Cellulose sheets used to clean up spilled liquids.
  • Used filter paper
  • Used chromatography recources (for example silica gel, TLC-plates) or drying agents.

Since this kind of waste is an hazardous waste a disposing is more expensive than disposing household waste.

It is very anoying if the bin for "operating material waste" is used as a universal waste bin. Indeed it is no safety problem to dispose posters, covering boxes (cardboards), water tubings and 2-€-coins as "operating material waste", but this is like burning money!

The following picture shows the content of a found bin for "operating material waste". Almost nothing needs to be treted as toxic waste!

  • It may happen that a used syringe needs to be disposed as "operating material waste". Dispose it as household waste if it is clean! (But never put the cannula into the household waste!)
  • If you generally wear protecting gloves until they are toxic waste you are doing anything wrong! In indivdual cases it may happen that lots of chemicals have been spilled on the gloves but generally dispose gloves as household waste.

There are no proven criteria to distinguish between "household waste" and "operating material waste". You have to train and to trust your guts instead! The greenhorn's guts mostly says: "It is safe to dispose everything as operating material waste." Try to be no more a greenhorn as soon as possible!

DE | EN
Direktzugang
Drucken (Miniaturbild)
Bildstreifen Sicherheit/Notfall

Betriebsmittel

Unter Betriebsmittelabfällen versteht man alle Materialien, die für sich genommen keine Gefahrstoffe darstellen, jedoch durch Anhaftungen von Gefahrstoffen zu Sondermüll geworden sind. In erster Linie handelt es sich zum Beispiel um:

  • Materialien, die zum Aufsaugen verschütteter Flüssigkeiten verwendet wurden (z.B. Zellstoff).
  • Gebrauchte Filterpapiere
  • Gebrauchte Chromatographie-Hilfsmittel (zum Beispiel Kieselgel, DC-Karten) oder Trockenmittel.

Da der Abfall als Sondermüll entsorgt werden muss, sind die Entsorgungskosten entsprechend höher.

Umso ärgerlicher ist es, wenn der Betriebsmittelabfall als Universal-Müllbehälter genutzt wird!

Es ist zwar kein Sicherheitsproblem, wenn auch Plakate, Umverpackungen (Pappkartons), Wasserschläuche und 2-Euro-Stücke dorthinein entsorgt werden, aber es verursacht vermeidbare Kosten. Das folgende Bild zeigt als Beispiel den aufgefundenen Inhalt eines Betriebsmittelsammelbeutels. Fast nicht davon hätte als Sonderabfall entsorgt werden müssen!

  • Eine gebrauchte Spritze kann, muss aber nicht automatisch Sondermüll sein. Eine saubere Spritze kann durchaus in den normalen Hausmüll (aber ohne die Kanüle!) entsorgt werden.
  • Wer Schutzhandschuhe so lange trägt, bis sie tatsächlich Sondermüll sind, macht irgendetwas falsch! Es kann natürlich im Einzelfall vorkommen, dass die Handschuhe durch ein plötzliches Ereignis so viel abbekommen haben, dass sie tatsächlich auch mal als Betriebsmittelabfall entsorgt werden müssen.

Es gibt keine festen Kriterien, die einen ansonsten normalen Hausmüll zum Betriebsmittelabfall machen. Sie müssen ein "Bauchgefühl" dafür entwickeln. Der Anfängerbauch fühlt häufig: "Am besten zur Sicherheit alles in den Betriebsmittelabfall." Versuchen Sie, so schnell wie möglich kein Anfänger mehr zu sein!