CoreFac-Logo-B-01-c-584

Optical Microscopy

Optical microscopy has developed rapidly in recent years and has thus become an indispensable tool in cellular and molecular biology research. The focus of the optical microscope unit of the core facility BioSupraMol is on fluorescence-based microscopy, in particular on confocal laser scanning microscopy (CLSM) and total internal reflection fluorescence microscopy (TIRF microscopy).

Confocal laser scanning microscopy enables a significantly higher image contrast and inherent depth discrimination compared to conventional microscopy and is used mainly for fluorescence microscopy tasks in biology and medicine. In addition, conventional contrast methods such as the differential interference contrast (DIC) can be imaged and for the analysis of e.g. particles or surfaces, the reflection mode can be used.

TIRF microscopy can be used to investigate structures close to surfaces. The fluorescence of the specimen is excited by an evanescent field, which is generated by total internal reflection of the incident light in a restricted region of the specimen immediately adjacent to the cover glass. This limits the fluorescence emission to the region near the glass-specimen interface (approximately 100 nm) and leads to a markedly enhanced resolution compared to CLSM.

Users of the core facility BioSupraMol have access to two confocal laser scanning microscopes from Leica Micro Systems (SP8) and an inverse fluorescence microscope from Zeiss (Axiovert 200M) with Visitron Laser TIRF expansion and CoolSNAP CCD camera.

DE | EN
Direktzugang
Drucken (Miniaturbild)
CoreFac-Logo-B-01-c-584

Optische Mikroskopie

Die optische Mikroskopie hat sich in den letzten Jahren rasant entwickelt und ist damit zu einem unverzichtbaren Werkzeug in der zell- und molekularbiologischen Forschung geworden. Der Schwerpunkt der optischen Mikroskopie-Einheit des Gerätezentrums BioSupraMol liegt auf der fluoreszenz-basierten Mikroskopie, insbesondere der konfokalen Laser-Scanning-Mikroskopie (englisch: confocal laser scanning microscopy, CLSM) sowie der internen Totalreflexionsfluoreszenzmikroskopie (englisch: total internal reflection fluorescence microscopy, TIRF micrscopy).

Die konfokale Laser-Scanning-Mikroskopie ermöglicht gegenüber der konventionellen Mikroskopie eine deutlich kontrastreichere Abbildung und inhärente Tiefendiskriminierung und findet vor allem für fluoreszenzmikroskopische Aufgabenstellungen in Biologie und Medizin Verwendung. Darüber hinaus können jedoch auch herkömmliche Kontrastverfahren wie z.B. der differentielle Interferenzkontrast (DIC) abgebildet werden und bei der Analyse von z.B. Partikeln oder Oberflächen kann der Reflexionsmodus genutzt werden.

Zur Untersuchung von Strukturen, die sich sehr nahe an einer Oberfläche befinden, kann die TIRF-Mikroskopie genutzt werden. Die Fluoreszenz des Präparats wird über ein evaneszentes Feld angeregt, das durch Totalreflexion des eingestrahlten Lichtes an der Grenze vom Deckglas zum Präparat erzeugt wird. Dies führt zu einer Begrenzung der erzeugten Fluoreszenz auf glasnahe Bereiche (ca. 100 nm) und somit einer deutlich verbesserten Auflösung gegenüber der CLSM.

Den Nutzern des Gerätezentrum BioSupraMol stehen zwei konfokale Laser-Scanning-Mikroskope der Firma Leica Mikrosystems (SP8) sowie ein inverses Fluoreszenzmikroskop der Fima Zeiss (Axiovert 200M) mit VisiTron Laser-TIRF Erweiterung und CoolSNAP CCD-Kamera zur Verfügung.