Methods

 

Scanning electron microscopy

Scanning electron microscope (SEM) serves to image micro-morphological structures, which are smaller than 0.001mm (=1 µm). Instead of light waves electron waves scan the surfaces of objects. . In the vacuum of the sample chamber an electron beam hits the samples and generates secondary electrons, which are detected and converted into electronic signals. These images can be photographed and digitally examined.
Pollen, diatoms and leaves are among the objects whose surfaces are most frequently examined in the SEM for waxes, hairs or conspicuous structures. Small morphological differences are often of help in differentiating between species.


Optical microscopy

In order to enlarge objects under a microscope as high as possible, light penetration must be optimal. To achieve this, they are cut in very thin slices or squashed. Small and thin objects suchas diatoms are transferred directly onto the glass slide.
The number of chromosomes in a plant can be determined from tissues with a great many nuclear divisions such as root tips, for example. The tissue is then macerated in an acid-reactive solution, stained and squashed under slight pressure between slide and cover slip, until it has spread out in a single-cell layer. In order to analyse the anatomy of plant organs such as flowers or seeds, these are embedded in a suitable medium such as wax, ice or plastic and cut with a microtome. These wafer-thin sections are lined up on slides, stained and glued with a cover slip to a permanent mount.


Isolation of DNA

DNA (Deoxyribo Nucleic Acid) is a primary carrier of genetic information for all living things. It is a double stranded molecule, which takes the form of a screw-shaped spiral ladder or double helix. Besides a sugar-phosphate backbone, DNA consists of four building blocks, the bases Adenine, Cytosine, Guanine and Thymine. The order of the bases – which is known as a sequence – is often characteristic for species or even individuals. Specific DNA fragments, or genes, contain ‘blueprints’ for proteins or for molecules used in protein synthesis. Depending on the species, it is distributed during cell division among a varied number of chromosomes. Apart from the nucleus, shorter DNA molecules are found in the ‘powerplants of the cells’, the mitochondria; in algae and plants, it is also present in the photosynthesising chloroplasts. In order for DNA to be examined, it must be separated from all residual cell and tissue component parts. For this tissue samples are dried and chopped up. The cell contents are then macerated and partly broken down by means of enzymes. Proteins and polysaccharides are precipitated and, together with cell and tissue remains, removed with the help of a centrifuge. After that the raw DNA is bound to a substrate, purified with alcohol and, as pure DNA, dissolved in an aqueous buffer. It can now be directly analysed and is available long term for further investigations.


Genetic fingerprinting

DNA can be cut using enzymes into pieces of differing length. When these sections are unravelled according to their size, an individual unique pattern is produced: the genetic fingerprint. The more similar the patterns of two living beings are, the more closely they are related to one another.
For the fingerprinting method AFLP genomic DNA samples are first treated with restriction enzymes. Subsequently, some of the DNA sections are amplified by means of Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) and labelled with the appropriate dyes. Then this mixture of DNA fragments is separated in the electric field according to their size. This process is called electrophoresis. The resulting pattern can be translated into a numerical table and statistically evaluated.
Genetic fingerprinting is particularly well suited compare closely related organisms. With its help it is possible to distinguish within species different sub-species, varieties or populations.


Polymerase Chain Reaction

The American Kary Mullis invented the Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) method in 1983. It allows even the smallest amounts of DNA, even if they come from very old tissue samples or from well preserved fossils, to be multiplied a million times over. For this Mullis was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1993.
Precisely determined DNA sections of a sample are copied using PCR. To this end, the double-stranded source DNA is first separated into single strands. Then the added artificial starter DNA, or primer, anneals to the single strands. In a third stage a special enzyme, DNA polymerase, with the addition of individual DNA building blocks, converts these single strands into identical double strands. By repetition of this procedure, the source DNA can be exponentially multiplied in just a few cycles.
In this way even a small quantity of DNA, as found in a few pollen grains or in a single cell, can be amplified to such an extent that precise examination becomes possible.


Quality testing

For successful analysis of DNA it is important to assess the quality of the DNA samples. Furthermore, at every stage in the process of genetic fingerprinting and DNA sequencing, the deployed molecular methods must be evaluated to determine whether or not they have been successful. Molecular samples are thus tested using agarose gel electrophoresis and absorption spectroscopy.
Agarose gel electrophoresis separates the DNA molecules by size according to their movement in the electric field. A fluorescent dye makes the molecules visible in UV light. The average size of the isolated DNA is a measure of its quality.
Absorption spectroscopy is used to verify the purity of a DNA sample and search for inhibiting molecules. The concentration of DNA in the sample can also indirectly be calculated by this method.


DNA sequence analysis ‘Sanger method’

DNA sequence analysis using the method pioneered by Frederick Sanger is carried out in a largely automated way. Replicated DNA fragments in a sample are thus separated again into single strands. Unlike amplification using PCR, only a single DNA strand is converted with the help of DNA polymerase enzyme. The mixture of individual bases, which are now added, contains chemically altered chain termination bases. According to the base (A, G, C or T), these are labeled with different fluorescent dyes.
This produces several incomplete copies of the DNA fragment, which can be separated by electrophoresis according to length. The fluorescence signals are detected by a detector and represented in a colour-coded chromatogram. They directly reproduce the sequence of the bases of the sequenced DNA section.


Next Generation Sequencing

In recent years scientists have shown an increasing interest in decoding the entire genetic makeup of organisms, with the aim of better understanding the ‘blueprints of life’ and the biological processes dependent on it. At the same time, new techniques have been developed and existing processes greatly advanced. These are often referred to as high-throughput sequencing or next generation sequencing.
The technique used for NGS are is so efficient that, with just one test run up to 520 million bases can be identified. The ascertained sequences are based on short-chain DNA fragments which overlap with one another multiple times. In order to decode a genome, these are synthesised using very powerful computers similar to those used in cryptography until a complete version is reconstructed.

Methoden

 

Rasterelektronenmikroskopie

Raster-Elektronenmikroskop (REM) dient der Darstellung mikromorphologischer Strukturen, die kleiner als 0,001 mm (=1 µm) sind. Anstelle von Lichtwellen nutzt es Elektronenwellen, mit denen es die Oberflächen von Objekten abtastet. Im Vakuum der Probenkammer trifft ein Elektronenstrahl auf die Probe und erzeugt Sekundärelektronen, die von Detektoren registriert und in elektronische Signale umgewandelt werden. Diese Abbilder können auf Monitoren direkt abgebildet und digital untersucht werden.
Pollen, Kieselalgen und Blätter gehören zu den häufigsten Objekten, deren Oberflächen im REM auf Wachse, Haare oder auffällige Strukturen untersucht werden. Oft helfen kleine morphologische Unterschiede bei der Unterscheidung von Arten.
 

Lichtmikroskopie

Damit Objekte mit Hilfe eines Licht-Mikroskops so hoch wie möglich vergrößert werden können, muss das Licht optimal hindurch dringen. Deshalb werden sie sehr dünn geschnitten oder gequetscht. Aus besonders kleinen Objekten wie Kieselalgen entstehen Streupräparate.
Die Anzahl der Chromosomen einer Pflanze bestimmt man in Geweben mit besonders vielen Kernteilungen wie zum Beispiel Wurzelspitzen. Das Gewebe wird zunächst in einer sauer reagierenden Lösung mazeriert, gefärbt und unter leichtem Druck zwischen Objektträger und Deckglas gequetscht, bis es sich in einzelliger Schicht ausgebreitet hat.
Um die Anatomie von Pflanzenorganen wie etwa Blüten oder Samen zu analysieren, bettet man diese in ein geeignetes Medium wie etwa Wachs, Eis oder Kunststoff ein und schneidet sie mit einem Mikrotom. Diese hauchdünnen Schnitte werden dann auf Objektträger aufgereiht, gefärbt und mit einem Deckglas zu einem Dauerpräparat verklebt.
 

Isolation von DNA

Die DNA (Deoxyribo Nucleid Acid) ist die Hauptträgerin der Erbinformation aller Lebewesen. Sie ist ein Doppelmolekül, das wie eine schraubenförmig gewundene Leiter oder Doppelhelix geformt ist. DNA besteht neben einem Zuckerphosphat-Rückgrat aus vier Bausteinen, den Basen Adenin, Cytosin, Guanin und Thymin. Die Abfolge der Basen eines Genomabschnittes, Sequenz genannt, ist häufig charakteristisch für Arten oder sogar Individuen. Bestimmte DNA-Abschnitte, die Gene, enthalten „Baupläne“ für Proteine oder für Moleküle zur Proteinsynthese. Je nach Organismenart ist sie bei der Zellteilung auf eine unterschiedliche Anzahl von Chromosomen verteilt. Außer im Zellkern finden sich kürzere DNA-Moleküle in den „Kraftwerken der Zelle“, den Mitochondrien; bei Algen und Pflanzen auch in den Lichtenergie nutzenden Chloroplasten. Um die DNA zu isolieren werden Gewebeproben getrocknet und zerkleinert. Nacheinander werden die Zellinhaltsstoffe aufgeschlossen und teilweise mit Hilfe von Enzymen abgebaut. Proteine und Polysaccharide werden ausgefällt und zusammen mit Zell- und Geweberesten mit Hilfe einer Zentrifuge entfernt. Danach wird die Roh-DNA an ein Trägermaterial gebunden, alkoholisch gereinigt und als reine DNA in einem wässrigen Puffer gelöst. Sie kann nun direkt analysiert werden und steht für weitere Untersuchungen langfristig zur Verfügung.
 

Der genetische Fingerabdruck

DNA kann man mit Hilfe von Enzymen in Stücke verschiedener Länge zerschneiden. Werden diese Teilstücke nach ihrer Größe aufgetrennt, entsteht ein individuell einzigartiges Muster: der genetische Fingerabdruck. Je ähnlicher die Muster zweier Lebewesen sind, desto näher sind sie miteinander verwandt.
Bei AFLP werden die DNA-Stränge zunächst mit Restriktionsenzymen zerkleinert. Anschließend wird ein Teil der DNA-Stücke mit Hilfe der Polymerase-Kettenreaktion (PCR) vervielfältigt und mit geeigneten Farbstoffen markiert. Anschließend wird diese Mischung von DNA-Abschnitten im elektrischen Feld mittels Kapillarelektrophorese nach ihrer Größe getrennt. Das entstandene Muster kann in eine Zahlentabelle übersetzt und statistisch ausgewertet werden.
Der genetische Fingerabdruck eignet sich besonders gut zum Vergleich nahe verwandter Organismen. Mit seiner Hilfe kann man innerhalb von Arten verschiedene Unterarten, Sorten oder Populationen unterscheiden.
                           

Die Polymerase-Kettenreaktion (PCR)

Der Amerikaner Kary Mullis erfand im Jahr 1983 die Methode der Polymerase-Kettenreaktion (Polymerase Chain Reaction = PCR). Damit können selbst geringste Mengen DNA, auch wenn sie aus sehr alten Gewebeproben oder aus gut erhaltenen Fossilien stammen, künstlich millionenfach vervielfältigt werden. Mullis wurde dafür 1993 mit dem Nobelpreis für Chemie geehrt.
Genau festgelegte DNA-Abschnitte einer Probe können mit Hilfe der PCR kopiert werden. Zunächst wird dazu die doppelsträngige DNA in Einzelstränge getrennt. Danach lagert sich die zugegebene künstliche Start-DNA, auch Primer genannt, an die Einzelstränge an. Im dritten Schritt vervollständigt die DNA-Polymerase, diese Einzelstränge mit Hilfe von ebenfalls hinzugefügten einzelnen DNA-Bausteinen zu identischen Doppelsträngen. Wird dieser Vorgang wiederholt, kann die Ausgangs-DNA in wenigen Umläufen exponentiell vermehrt werden. Auf diese Weise kann sogar eine sehr kleine DNA-Menge, wie sie in wenigen Pollenkörnern oder nur in einer Zelle enthalten ist, so weit vervielfältigt werden, dass eine genauere Untersuchung möglich ist.
 

Qualitätsprüfung

Für erfolgreiche Analysen von DNA ist es wichtig, die Qualität und Quantität der isolierten DNA-Proben einzuschätzen. Außerdem muss bei jedem Arbeitsschritt zur Bestimmung des genetischen Fingerabdrucks und der DNA-Sequenz kontrolliert werden, ob die eingesetzten molekularen Methoden erfolgreich waren. Deshalb wird die Qualität der DNA-Proben mit Hilfe von Agarose-Gelelektrophorese und Absorptionsspektroskopie getestet.
Agarose-Gelelektrophorese trennt die DNA-Moleküle bei ihrer Bewegung im elektrischen Feld nach ihrer Größe. Die Größe der isolierten DNA ist ein Maß für ihre Qualität.
Mit Absorptionsspektroskopie wird die Reinheit einer DNA-Probe überprüft. Hieraus kann zudem die Quantität der DNA in der Probe berechnet werden.
 

DNA-Sequenzanalyse nach Sanger

Die DNA-Sequenzanalyse nach Frederick Sanger wird genutzt um die genaue Basenabfolge eines DNA-Moleküls zu bestimmen und weitgehend automatisiert durchgeführt. Dazu wird eine Probe mit vervielfältigten DNA-Abschnitten wieder in Einzelstränge getrennt. Im Unterschied zu der PCR vervollständigt die DNA-Polymerase jedoch nur jeweils einen DNA-Strang. Das Gemisch aus Einzelbasen, die zugesetzt werden, enthält zudem chemisch veränderte Basen (ddNTP) die mit unterschiedlichen Fluoreszenz-Farbstoffen (A, G, C oder T) markiert sind.
Die entstandenen Produkte mit den unterschiedlichen Fluoreszenzsignalen werden elektrophoretisch nach Größe getrennt. Das entstandene Signal wird als Elektroferogramm farbig dargestellt und gibt die Abfolge der Basen des sequenzierten DNA-Abschnittes direkt wieder.
 

Next Generation Sequencing

In den letzten Jahren wuchs das Interesse von Wissenschaftlern, das gesamte Erbgut von Organismen zu entschlüsseln. Ihr Ziel ist es, die „Baupläne des Lebens“ und die auf ihnen beruhenden biologischen Prozesse besser zu verstehen. Zugleich wurden neue Techniken entwickelt und die bestehenden Verfahren enorm beschleunigt. Sie werden als Hochdurchsatz-Sequenzierung oder Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) bezeichnet.
Die Methoden der NGS sind so leistungsfähig, dass bei einem Durchlauf einer Probenplatte bis zu 520 Millionen Basen auf einmal identifiziert werden können. Die ermittelten Sequenzen beruhen auf kurzkettigen DNA-Abschnitten, die vielfach miteinander überlappen. Um ein Genom zu entschlüsseln, werden sie mit Hilfe großer Rechnerkapazitäten ähnlich wie bei kryptographischen Verfahren solange zusammengesetzt, bis eine vollständige Version rekonstruiert ist.